Amanda Forsyth

Viviane Hagner

Miró String Quartet

Marc Neikrug

Michael Tree

Allan Vogel

Pinchas Zukerman

Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival

The Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival

2008 — Week 1

Sonata for Oboe & Piano (1962)

Allan Vogel, oboe; Marc Neikrug, piano

Artist Comments: Marc Neikrug
The first broadcast in the series opens with Francis Poulenc's 1962 composition, the Sonata for Oboe and Piano. Allan Vogel is the oboe player for this performance, and the pianist is MARC NEIKRUG, the Festival's Artistic Director. Host, Kerry Frumkin, spoke with him about the Oboe Sonata and how we often think of Poulenc and his writing for winds as being rather playful, but this final composition of his is very personal and melancholic. Marc also comments on the special challenges of playing the oboe at an altitude of 7000 feet.

Artist Comments: Marc Neikrug

Octet in E-flat Major, Op. 20 (1825)

Pinchas Zukerman, Viviane Hagner, violin; Michael Tree, viola; Amanda Forsyth, cello; Miró String Quartet: Daniel Ching and Sandy Yamamoto, violins; John Largess, viola; Joshua Gindele, cello

Artist Comments: Amanda Forsythe
Cellist, AMANDA FORSYTHE joined violinists, Pinchas Zukerman and Viviane Hagner, violist, Michael Tree, and The Miro String Quartet for a performance of Felix Mendelssohn's much-loved Octet. Here are her thoughts on that amazing work, composed by a sixteen-year-old...

Artist Comments: Amanda Forsythe


Artist Comments: Michael Tree
A founding member of both the famed Guarneri String Quartet and the Marlboro Trio, violist MICHAEL TREE is a frequent participant at the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival. After a performing career spanning the better part of five decades, how does he maintain a fresh approach, especially when playing a beloved composition such as Mendelssohn's Octet?

Artist Comments: Michael Tree