The WFMT Radio Network


Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra

Broadcast Schedule - Summer 2013

Please Note:  These programs are subject to change.

PROGRAM #:  MSO 13-01
RELEASE:  July 1, 2013

CONDUCTOR: Gilbert Varga
SOLOIST:  Frank Almond, violin

Mendelssohn:  The Hebrides Overture, Op. 26, Fingal's Cave
Mendelssohn:  Concerto in E Minor for Violin and Orchestra, Op.64
Mendelssohn:  Nocturne from Four Pieces from A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op.61
Mendelssohn:  Symphony No. 4 in A Major, Op. 90, Italian

PROGRAM #:  MSO 13-02
RELEASE:  July 8, 2013

CONDUCTOR: Edo de Waart
SOLOISTS:  Miah Persson, soprano; Milwaukee Children's Choir Jubilate, Jason Clark, director; Milwaukee Symphony Chorus, Lee Erickson, director

Mozart:     Exsultate, jubilate, K. 158a [165]
Adams:     On The Transmigration Of Souls
Mahler:     Symphony No. 4 in G Major

PROGRAM #:  MSO 13-03
RELEASE:  July 15, 2013

CONDUCTOR: Michael Francis
SOLOIST:  Todd Levy, clarinet

Hindemith:     Mathis der Maler, Symphony
Weber:     Concerto No. 1 in F Minor for Clarinet and Orchestra, Op. 73
Franck:     Symphony in D Minor

PROGRAM #:  MSO 13-04
RELEASE:  July 22, 2013

CONDUCTOR: Francesco Lecce-Chong
SOLOIST:  Stephen Beus, piano
Narrator:  Mayor Tom Barrett

Copland:     Lincoln Portrait
Jeffrey Mumford:    a dance into reflected daylight
Gershwin/orch. Grofé:      Rhapsody in Blue  
Sibelius:     Symphony No. 5 in E-Flat Major, Op. 82

PROGRAM #:  MSO 13-05
RELEASE:  July 29, 2013

CONDUCTOR: Edo de Waart
SOLOIST:  Joseph Kalichstein, piano

Mozart:  Concerto No. 22 in E-Flat Major for Piano and Orchestra, K. 482
  Leopold Nowak: Symphony No. 4 in E-Flat Major, Romantic (1878/80 second version)

PROGRAM #:  MSO 13-06
RELEASE:  August 5, 2013

CONDUCTOR: Edo de Waart

Beethoven:  Coriolan Overture, Op. 62
Beethoven:  Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 36
Beethoven:  Egmont Overture, Op. 84
Beethoven:  Symphony No. 4 in B-Flat Major, Op. 60

PROGRAM #:  MSO 13-07
RELEASE:  August 12, 2013

CONDUCTOR: Ignat Solzhenitsyn
SOLOISTS:  Ignat Solzhenitsyn, piano; Mark Niehaus, trumpet

Anatoli Liadov: Baba-Yaga, Op. 56
Shostakovich:  Concerto No. 1 in C Minor for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 35 (Francesco Lecce-Chong, conductor)
Prokofiev:  Symphony No. 6 in E-Flat Minor, Op. 111 

PROGRAM #:  MSO 13-08
RELEASE:  August 19, 2013

CONDUCTOR: Edo de Waart
SOLOISTS:  Joyce Yang, piano; Twyla Robinson, soprano; Richard Croft, tenor; Hugh Russell, bass; Milwaukee Symphony Chorus, Lee Erickson, director

Rachmaninoff:  Fantasy, Op. 7 from The Rock
Rachmaninoff:  Concerto No. 1 in F-Sharp Minor for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 1
Rachmaninoff:  The Bells, Op. 35

PROGRAM #:  MSO 13-09
RELEASE:  August 26, 2013

CONDUCTOR: Edo de Waart
SOLOIST:  Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg, violin

Higdon:  Blue Cathedral
Bruch:   Concerto No. 1 in G Minor for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 26
Dvorak:  Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op. 95, [old No. 5], From the New World

PROGRAM #:  MSO 13-10
RELEASE:  September 2, 2013

SOLOISTS:  Matthew Annin, horn; Michelle DeYoung, mezzo-soprano; Sir John Tomlinson, bass
Narrator:  Dominique Serrand

Mozart:  Concerto No. 2 in E-Flat Major for Horn and Orchestra, K. 417
Bartok:   Herzog Blaubarts Burg (Bluebeard's Castle)

PROGRAM #:  MSO 13-11
RELEASE:  September 9, 2013

CONDUCTOR: Francesco Lecce-Chong
SOLOIST:  Augustin Hadelich, violin

R. Strauss:  Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks, Op. 28
Mozart:  Concerto No. 5 in A Major for Violin and Orchestra, K. 219
Mozart:  Music from Idomeneo, K. 366 and 367
R. Strauss:  Suite from Der Rosenkavalier, Op. 59

PROGRAM #:  MSO 13-12
RELEASE:  September 16, 2013

CONDUCTOR: Edo de Waart

SOLOIST: Ilana Setapen, violin

Brahms:  Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 68
Brahms:  Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98

Prokofiev: Concerto No. 2 in G Minor for Violin and Orchestra, Opus 63

PROGRAM #:  MSO 13-13
RELEASE:  September 23, 2013

CONDUCTOR: Edo de Waart
SOLOISTS:  Tamara Mumford, mezzo soprano (the Angel); Anthony Dean Griffey, tenor (Gerontius and the Soul of Gerontius); Luca Pisaroni, baritone (The Priest and the Angel of Agony); Milwaukee Symphony Chorus, Lee Erickson, director

Elgar:   The Dream of Gerontius, Op. 38