The WFMT Radio Network

WFMT Radio Network

Living American Composers: New Music from Bowling Green

Broadcast Schedule - Fall 2013

PLEASE NOTE:  These programs are subject to change

All performances feature the Bowling Green Philharmonia under Emily Freeman Brown unless otherwise noted.

PROGRAM #:  MBG 13-01
RELEASE:  October 1, 2013

Adler:   Joi, Amor, Cortezia: Seven Dances of Joy, Love, and Courtliness Albany Troy743
Higdon:  Blue Cathedral Troy633
Puts:   Inspiring Beethoven Albany Troy743
Lang:   Cheating, Lying, Stealing (Bowling Green State University Wind Symphony, Bruce Moss, conductor)

PROGRAM #:  MGB 13-02
RELEASE:  October 8, 2013

Carter:   Pastoral for English horn and strings (Jacqueline Leclair, English horn) Albany Troy1214
Daugherty:  Raise the Roof (Roger Schupp, timpani) Albany Troy1020
Luther Adams: Dark Waves (Robert Satterlee & Laura Melton, pianos)
Theofanides:  On the Edge of the Infinite (Movses Pogossian, violin) Albany Troy321

PROGRAM #:  MGB 13-03
RELEASE:  October 15, 2013

Marshall:  Bright Kingdoms
Ross:   After a Line by Theodore Roetke (Jane Schoonmaker Rodgers, soprano) Albany Troy1020
Huang Ruo:  Leaving Sao (Huang Ruo, vocalist) Albany Troy1020

PROGRAM #:  MGB 13-04
RELEASE:  October 22, 2013

Part 1 of a 3-part Jennifer Higdon special, curated by the composer

Higdon:  Autumn Reflection (Jennifer Higdon, flute; Hugh Sung, piano) IVR 501
Higdon:  Autumn Music (Musical Arts Woodwind Quintet) Albany Troy1369
Higdon:  Piano Trio (Anne Akiko Meyers, violin; Alisa Weilerstein, cello; Adam Neiman, piano) Naxos 8.559298
Higdon:  Summer Shimmers across the Glass of Green Ponds (Gary Graffman, piano; Lark Quartet) Bridge 9379

PROGRAM #:  MBG 13-05
RELEASE:  October 29, 2013

Part 2 of a 3-part Jennifer Higdon special, curated by the composer

Higdon:  Concerto 4-3 (Time for Three; Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra, Miguel Harth-Bedoya, conductor) Fwso Live 844667029154
Higdon:  Soprano Saxophone Concerto (Carrie Koffman, Soprano Saxophone; The Hartt School Wind Ensemble, Glen Adsit, conductor) Naxos 8.572889
Higdon:  Dash (Verdehr Trio) Crystal 946

PROGRAM #:  MBG 13-06
RELEASE:  November 5, 2013

Part 3 of a 3-part Jennifer Higdon special, curated by the composer

Higdon:  On a Wire (Eighth Blackbird; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, Robert Spano, conductor) ASO Media 1001
Higdon:  Percussion Concerto (Colin Currie, percussion; London Philharmonic Orchestra, Marin Alsop, conductor) LPO 0035

PROGRAM #:  MBG 13-07
RELEASE:  November 12, 2013

J. Williams:  Tuba Concerto (Velvet Brown, tuba) Albany Troy633
Shrude:  A Virtual Reality
Godfrey:  Lightscape Albany Troy633

PROGRAM #:  MBG 13-08
RELEASE:  November 19, 2013

Osborne:  And the waves sing because they are moving (Thomas Rosenkranz, piano)
Prangcharoen:  Mantras (John Sampen, soprano saxophone; Bowling Green State University Wind Symphony, Bruce Moss, conductor) Albany Troy1322
Rindfleisch:  In the Zone (Meridian Arts Ensemble)
arr. Stewart:  Brazentina Suite (Meridian Arts Ensemble) Channel Classics 25508

PROGRAM #:  MBG 13-09
RELEASE:  November 26, 2013

The Music of Samuel Adler

Adler:   I Think Continually of Those & A Prophecy of Peace (Gloria Dei Cantores, Elizabeth C. Patterson, conductor) GDCD 36
Adler:   Pygmalion Overture (Bowling Green State University Wind Symphony, Bruce Moss, conductor)
Adler:   Canto XIV (Franklin Cohen, clarinet) Albany Troy306
Adler:   Piano Concerto No. 3 (Laura Melton, piano)
Adler:   The Fixed Desire of the Human Heart

PROGRAM #:  MBG 13-10
RELEASE:  December 3, 2012

Live at (Le) Poisson Rouge

Currier:  Scarlatti Cadences & Brainstorm (Laura Melton, piano)
Leroux:  SPP (Jeffrey Heisler, soprano saxophone; I-Chen Yeh, piano)
Higdon:  Dark Wood (Susan Nelson, bassoon; Penny Thompson Kruse, violin; Alan Smith, cello; Thomas Rosenkranz, piano)
Nelson:  They Wash Their Ambassadors in Citrus and Fennel (Elizabeth Pearse, soprano)
Dietz:   Until the End, My Dear (Thomas Rosenkranz, piano)

PROGRAM #:  MBG 13-11  ***rev 11/21
RELEASE:  December 10, 2013

A program of works by young composers, all recent graduates of Bowling Green State University.

Christopher Chandler: deep in liquid indigo (Ensemble Interface)
Timothy Stulman: Spring from SiJiTu (Bowling Green Philharmonia/Octavio Más-Arocas)
Evan Williams: GRIME (Andrew Williams, violin; Rachael Eid-Ries, viola; Gage Ehmann, cello; Andrew O'Connor, double bass)
Timothy Stulman: Ekaggata (Jeff Heisler, soprano sax; I Chen Yeh, piano)
Corey Keating: As the Night Blooms (Colleen O'Shea Jones, flute; Spencer Prewitt, clarinet; Kai-wei Chen, violin; Brendan Jacklin, cello; Katie Brown, vibraphone; Jeff Manchur, piano)

PROGRAM #: MBG 13-12  ***rev 11/21
RELEASE: December 17, 2013

Stuckey: American Muse (Jesse Blumberg, baritone; Bowling Green Philharmonia/Emily Freeman Brown)
Burhans: Contritus (JACK Quartet)
Johanson: Dynamo (Garth Simmons, trombone)

PROGRAM #: MBG 13-13  ***rev 11/21
RELEASE: December 24, 2013

Heuser: Cauldron (Bowling Green Philharmonia/Emily Freeman Brown) Albany Troy490
Ryan: Ophélie (Myra Merritt, soprano; assisting sopranos Traci Cotterman, Irina Yurkovskaya, Jennifer Wesco; Bowling Green Philharmonia/Emily Freeman Brown) Albany Troy321
Ran: Vessels of Courage and Hope (Bowling Green Philharmonia/Emily Freeman Brown) Albany Troy1020
Gann: Serenity Meditation (BGSU New Music Ensemble/J.J. Pearse)