what’s playing now

      WFMT About

      For immediate release

      98.7WFMT to Broadcast LASTING IMPRESSIONS

      Leading Classical Music Critics, Conductors and Composers Reveal Their Answers to the Question: “Which single piece written in the past 25 years will still be heard a century from now?”

      Airing Monday, May 13 throughout the day on 98.7WFMT

      Chicago – May 10, 2013 – In conjunction with sister station WTTW’s premiere of the national television special 10 Buildings that Changed America, on Monday, May 13 98.7WFMT will broadcast an all-day special event:  Lasting Impressions, in which leading classical music luminaries were asked to weigh in on their choices for contemporary pieces that they think will still be heard in a hundred years.

      The experts, and their choices, are:

      • Anthony Tomassini, Chief Classical Music Critic, New York Times
        Auld Swaara, Stephen Hartke's 1992 Concerto for Violin and Orchestra. Violinist Michelle Makarski with the Riverside Symphony, George Rothman conducting.
      • Cliff Colnot, composer and arranger, principle conductor of the Civic Orchestra and the CSO's Music Now Ensemble, member of the faculty at DePaul University and the University of Chicago
        Mirage, a chamber piece written by Israeli composer Shulamit Ran in 1990. Cliff Colnot conducts an ensemble featuring Mary Stolper on amplified alto flute, flute, and piccolo; John Bruce Yeh, B-flat clarinet; Liba Shacht-Sharp, violin; and Christopher Oldfather, piano.
      • Hans Thomalla, composer and composition professor at the Bienen School of Music at Northwestern University
        Zwei Gefuele for Two Speakers and Ensemble by the German composer Helmut Lachenmann. Hans Zender conducts the Klangforum Wein.
      • Seth Boustead, host of WFMT’s Relevant Tones
        Chen Yi’s Momentum for Orchestra, composed in 1998.  Lan Shui conducts the Singapore Symphony Orchestra.
      • John Von Rhein, entertainment columnist, The Chicago Tribune
        John Adams' Harmonielehre, composed in 1985 on a commission from The San Francisco Symphony.  City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Simon Rattle.  
      • Anne Midgette, classical music critic, The Washington Post
        Meredith Monk’s Songs of Ascension, composed in 2008. Meredith Monk with the Todd Reynolds Quartet, the M6, and the Montclair State University Singers.
      • Andrew Patner, WFMT’s Critic-at-Large
        Millennium Designs for Violin and Piano, composed by Ralph Shapey in 2000.  With Miranda Cuckson, violin, and Blair McMillen, piano.
      • Augusta Read Thomas, composer and educator
        David Rakowski's 2005 piano concerto.  With pianist Marilyn Nonken with the Boston Modern Orchestra under the direction of Gil Rose.
      • Patricia Morehead, composer, oboist, educator, and new music advocate
        Anna Nicole, two-act opera written by British composer Mark-Anthony Turnage between 2008 and 2010, based on the life of Anna Nicole Smith.
      • Tim Page, Pulitzer Prize-winning music critic, author, and Professor of Music and Journalism at the University of Southern California
        Steve Reich's 1973 composition Music for Mallet Instruments, Voices and Organ. The original Deutsche Grammophon LP recording with Steve Reich and an ensemble of a dozen musicians.
      • Marc Neikrug, Composer, pianist, and music director of the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival
        Requiem: Songs for Sue for Soprano and Chamber Ensemble, Oliver Knussen's 2005 musical tribute to Knussen's late wife.  Knussen conducts soprano Claire Booth and the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group.
      • Elbio Barilari, Uruguayan composer, educator, and host of WFMT’s Fiesta
        Cuban composer Leo Brouwer’s Guitar Concerto No. 4, Concerto de Toronto, composed in 1987. Guitarist John Williams and the London Sinfonietta, Steven Mercurio conducting.
      • David Robertson, conductor and music director of the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra
        Concentric Paths, a 2005 violin concerto by British composer Thomas Adès. Chamber Orchestra of Europe with Anthony Marwood, soloist.

      The program is produced by Louise Frank, and will air throughout the day, from 9:00 am until 7:00 pm.   You can read more here; listeners are chiming in with their choices as well.

      About 98.7WFMT

      98.7WFMT, Chicago’s classical radio station, provides the best and broadest selection of classical music and fine arts programming in the country.  A broadcasting force for more than 60 years, the station’s appeal continues to widen.  Via the WFMT Radio Network and WFMT’s enhanced streaming service at wfmt.com/streaming, the station is currently serving the largest audience in the station’s history, with its programming available to a global audience.  More information about 98.7WFMT is available at wfmt.com.

      WFMT Contact:
      Julia Maish
      98.7WFMT and the WFMT Radio Network
      (773) 509-5551