To the Finland Station, Part II

May 1, 2017, 7:00 pm

Share this Post

“The theme of my fifth symphony is the making of man.” —D. Shostakovich. In 1949, Dmitry Shostakovich traveled for the first time to New York to play his 5th Symphony on the piano, to 30,000 listeners at Madison Square Garden. The shy Shostakovich traveled and performed this concert at the request of Joseph Stalin. Making of mankind was a theme of many artists in the 30’s. These artists used creativity to reply to tumultuous political times, sometimes writing complete symphonies in a matter of weeks, and because of the current political environment, the public didn’t hear these works for decades. This week is the second part in our a two-week journey into the hidden phrases and chords that these Russian musicians used to express their inner thoughts and creativity on this historical path. Bill will feature composers from both sides of the Iron Curtain.


Episode 1

Dmitri Shostakovich: Scherzo for Orchestra in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 1
USSR Ministry of Culture Orchestra/Gennadi Rosdhestvenski
Melodiya 59058

Dmitri Shostakovich: Three Fantastic Dances Op. 5
1. Andantino
2. Allegretto
Ludovic Vaillant, trumpet; Dimitri Shostakovich, piano
EMI 62648
1:14, 0:50

Dmitri Shostakovich: 2 Fables of Krilov, Op. 4: No. 2. The Donkey and the Nightingale
Lyudmila Shkirtil
Melodiya 59058

Dmitri Shostakovich: Suite in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 6: II. Danse fantastique
Margarete Babinsky; Holger Busch
Capriccio 1087

Dimitri Shostakovich: Piano Trio no. 1, op 8:Andante
Arabesque Z6698

Dimitri Shostakovich: Symphony No 1 IV.Allegro molto
USSR Ministry Of Culture Symphony Orchestra/Gennady Rozhdestvensky
Melodiya 49611

Dmitri Shostakovich: The Nose
I. Introduction
II. Ivan Yakovlevich’S Barber Shop
V. Kovalyov’s Bedroom
VI. Gallop
Soloists; Chorus and Orchestra of The Moscow Chamber Opera/Gennady
2:04, 3:42, 3:03, 1:54

Episode 2

Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.3 – Allegro ma non troppo
Prokofiev; London Symphony Orchestra/Coppola
Naxos 8.110670

Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 1 in D Major, Op. 19:
I. Andantino, II. Scherzo, III. Moderato
London Symphony Orchestra/Lovro von Matačić
David Oistrakh, violin
Warner Classics 14712
9:44, 3:52, 7:45

Sergei Prokofiev: Lieutenant Kijé, Op. 60
I. “The Birth Of Kijé,” IV. “Troika,” V. “Kijé’s Funeral”
Chicago Symphony Orchestra/Claudio Abbado
DG 447419
4:10, 2:44, 5:55

Dmitri Shostakovich: Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and Strings in C Minor, Op. 35, IV. Allegro brio
Berlin Philharmonic/Mariss Jansons
Mikhail Rudy
EMI 55361

Episode 3

Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet; “Introduction,”
“Juliet as a Young Girl Balcony Scene,” “The Duel,”
“Romeo Decides to Avenge Mercutio,” “Finale”
USSR State Symphony Orchestra/Algis Ziuratis
MCA Classics 2-32116
2:24, 2:54, 3:29, 1:32, 2:06, 2:02

Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet, Suite No. 2, Op. 64, VII. “Romeo at Juliet’s Grave”
Boston Symphony Orchestra/Serge Koussevitzky
RCA 61657

Prokofiev: Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78
“Russia Under The Mongol Yoke,” “
The Crusaders in Pskov Arise,” “Ye Russian People The Battle On The Ice,” “Alexander’s Entry Into Pskov”
London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus/Claudio Abbado
DG 447419
3:09, 6:40, 2:20, 12:04, 4:49

Episode 4

Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5 in D Minor, Op. 47
III. Largo

USSR Ministry Of Culture Symphony Orchestra/Gennady Rozhdestvensky
MEL/BMG 49611

Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5 in D Minor, Op. 47
IV. Allegro Non Troppo

Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra/Yevgeny Mravinsky
Erato 2292-45752-2

Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5 in D Minor, Op. 47
IV. Allegro non troppo

New York Philharmonic/Leonard Bernstein
CBS 57218

Serge Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5 in B Flat, Op. 100
1. Andante
4. Allegro Giocoso
London Symphony Orchestra/Valery Gergiev
PHI 4757655
12:35, 9:08

Episode 5

Shostakovich: Piano Trio No.2 in E minor Op.67
III. Largo

Beaux Arts Trio
Warner 62514

Shostakovich: Piano Trio No.2 in E minor Op.67
IV Allegretto

Beaux Arts Trio
Warner 62514

Yevtuskeno: Babi Yar
Antony Hopkins
London 444791

Shostakovich: Symphony No.13 in B-Flat Minor, Op. 113, “Babi Yar,”
1. “Babi Yar”
Sergei Alexashkin; Chicago Symphony Orchestra & Chorus/Georg Solti
London 444791

Shostakovich: Symphony No.15 A-Dur, Op.141,
IV. Adagio. Allegretto

Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra/Evgeny Mravinsky
Melodiya/BMG 25192