Families of Instruments

September 2, 2019, 7:00 pm

Share this Post

Modern orchestras comprise groups of instruments that are hit, plucked, blown, fingered, and bowed, in producing sound. For a conductor, achieving just the right tone, sonority, and even color from the score is a puzzle.  As Bill says, “The score is like a big blueprint” the composer creates, which the conductor uses to assemble the sounds. This week’s programs will examine these scores‑ from the top of the score where the higher woodwinds, violins and soloists live, down to the double-basses and contra-bassoon at the bottom.


Episode 1

Claude Debussy: Syrinx
Dwyer, flute
DG 469130; 2:37

Christopher Rouse: Concerto for Flute (excerpts)
Houston Symphony/Eschenbach; Wincenc, flute
Teldec 80452; 10:10

Pyotr Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4, III (excerpt)
Chicago Symphony Orchestra/Solti
London 414192; 1:39

Richard Strauss: Oboe Concerto in D Major, I
Academy of London/Stamp; Still, oboe
Virgin 90813; 7:45

Jean Sibelius: Swan of Tuonela from Lemminkäinen Suite, Op. 22, No. 3
Philadelphia Orch/Ormandy; Rosenblatt, english horn
CBS 39447; 9:52

Carl Maria von Weber: Concerto for Clarinet & Orchestra No. 2, III
Royal Phil/Herbig; Meyer, clarinet
Denon 79551; 6:03

Richard Strauss: Don Quixote (excerpt)
Cleveland Orch/Szell
Sony 63123; :34

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Concerto for Bassoon in B flat major, K 191, II
Chicago Symphony Orchestra/Abbado; Elliot, bassoon
DG B0000025-02; 6:18

Maurice Ravel: Beauty & the Beast from Mother Goose Suite (excerpt)
Boston Symphony Orchestra/Munch
RCA 6522; 2:09

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Serenade for Winds No. 10 in B flat Major, K. 361, “Gran Partita” (excerpt)
Winds of the Berlin Phil/Mehta
Sony 58950; 2:39

Episode 2

Richard Strauss: Concerto for Horn No. 2 in E flat major, I & II
Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra/Masur; Baumann, horn
Philips 412237; 14:28

Joseph Haydn: Concerto for Trumpet in E-flat Major, III
English Chamber Orchestra/Leppard; Marsalis, trumpet
Sony 57497; 4:31

Christopher Rouse: Trombone Concerto, I (excerpt) & II
Colorado Symphony/Alsop; Alessi, trombone
RCA 68410; 9:39

Francis Poulenc: Sonata for Horn, Trombone & Trumpet (1922), II & III
Civil, horn; Wilbraham, trombone; Iveson, trumpet
EMI 62736; 4:29

Ralph Vaughan Williams: Concerto for Bass Tuba and Orchestra in f minor, II
Chicago Symphony Orchestra/Barenboim; Jacobs, tuba
DG B0000025-02; 4:33

Malcolm Arnold: Quintet for Brass, Op. 73
St. Louis Brass Quintet
Crystal 200; 7:19

Peter Schickele: A Little Mosey Music (excerpt)
Chestnut Brass Company
Newport Classics 85638; 2:23

Episode 3

Carlos Chavez: Toccata for Percussion, III
La Camerata/ Mata
Dorian 90215;  3:33

Paul Hindemith: Symphonic Metamorphosis on Themes of Carl Maria von Weber, II
San Francisco Symphony/Blomstedt
London 421523; 7:21

Joseph Schwantner: Concerto for Percussion and Orchestra, II & III
National Symphony Orchestra/Slatkin; Glennie, percussion
RCA 68692; 22:21

Béla Bartók: Concerto for Two Pianos, Percussion and Orchestra, III
Royal Concertgebouw Orch/ Zinman; Argerich & Freiere, pianos; Labordus & Pustjens, percussion
Philips 416378; 6:30

Kakraba Lobi: Ganda Yina
Gramley, marimba
Tower Hill 72003; 5:52

Episode 4

Niccolò Paganini: Caprice No. 24 for Violin, Op. 1
Perlman, violin
EMI 67257; 4:21

Paul Hindemith: Trauermusik for Viola and Strings
San Francisco Symphony/Blomstedt; Walther, viola
London 421523; 8:38

Heitor Villa-Lobos: Bachiana Brasileira No. 5 for Soprano and 8 Cellos
French Nat’l Radio Orch/VillaLobos; De los Angeles, soprano; Benedetti, violoncello
EMI 67229; 6:17

Edgar Meyer: Concerto in D, III
St. Paul Chamber Orch/Wolff; Meyer, double bass
Sony 60956; 4:53

Igor Stravinsky: Concerto for String Orchestra in D Major, II & III
Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
DG 453458; 5:52

Pyotr Tchaikovsky: String Serenade in C Major, Op. 48, III & IV
London Symphony Orchestra/Barbirolli
EMI 67700; 16:51, :18

Episode 5

Béla Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra, II, I (excerpt)
London Symphony/Solti
London 436610; 6:44, 2:39

Alberto Ginastera: Variaciones Concertantes
Royal Philharmonic/Diemecke
Intersound 28870; 24:48

Maurice Ravel: Bolero
Chicago Symphony Orchestra/Solti
DG B0000025-02; 14:39