The Midnight Special, July 25, 2020

By WFMT |

Share this Post

  1. The Midnight Special (theme) "Last Sessions" Smithsonian Folkways 40068/71

  2. Jackson Browne: Opening Farewell (4:45) "Saturate Before Using"Asylum 5051-2 (jacksonbrowne.com)

  3. Groucho Marx: Hello, I Must Be Going (Harry Ruby / Bert Kalmar) "An Evening With Groucho" A&M 3515

  4. Ferron: As Soon As I Find My Shoes I'm Gone (3:15) "Shadows on a Dime" Lucy-Redwood 004 (ferrononline.com)

  5. Robin & Linda Williams: Walkin' Down the Line (2:29) (Bob Dylan) "A Nod to Bob 2" Red House 246 (robinandlinda.com)

  6. James Keelaghan: Love What a Road (3:12) "Road" Hightone 8101 (keelaghan.com)

  7. J.P. Jones: Dante's Highway (3:19) "Salvation Street" Vision Company 1001 (jpjones.net)

  8. Kim & Reggie Harris and Magpie: When I'm Gone (Phil Ochs) "Spoken in Love" Long Tail 003-2

  9. Judy Collins: Turn, Turn, Turn (3:40) (Pete Seeger/Ecclesiastes) "Forever:An Anthology" Elektra 62104-2 (judycollins.com)

  10. Phil Ochs: Changes (4:40) "Farewells & Fantasies" Elektra-Rhino R2 73518

  11. Jim Photoglo w/Freebo: Sparks in the Radio (2:41) (Photoglo-Gary Burr) "Folkstage - May 14, 2005" WFMT recording (jimphotoglo.com)

  12. John Renbourn: Willy O'Winsbury (5:39) (trad-Child 100, arr.Renbourn)"Faro Annie" Sanctuary 534 (johnrenbourn.co.uk)

  13. Steve Goodman: Jock O'Hazeldean (trad-Child 293) (New Year's morning 1974)WFMT recording

  14. Bruce Springsteen: Thunder Road (5:28) "Springsteen on Broadway"Columbia 19075904362  (brucespringsteen.net)

  15. Claudia Schmidt: I Can't Wait to Fly (4:28) "Slow Steady Heart"self 00261048053 (claudiaschmidt.com)

  16. Fred Small: No Limit (3:58) Rounder 4019

  17. Bruce Springsteen: Promised Land (4:02) "Springsteen on Broadway"Columbia 19075904362

  18. Mick Scott & Dave Lowe: Goodbye Chicago (Mick Scarpelli-Scott)(private recording)

  19. Barow Davidian: Miles (4:21)(private recording)

  20. Antje Duvekot: Long Way (6:06)

  21. "The Near Demise of the Highwire Dancer" Black Wolf 008 (antjeduvekot.com)

  22. Carrie Newcomer: There Is a Tree (4:29) "The Geography of Light"Philo 11671-1253-2 (carrienewcomer.com)

  23. The Yellow Room Gang (David Tamulevich-Michael Hough): PlantingTrees (5:08) (Tamulevich-Hough) "Happy New Day" Yellow Room 009 (tamulevich.com / yellowroomgang.com)

  24. Mason Williams: Godsend (4:00) "Music 1968-1971" Vanguard 137/38(masonwilliams-online.com)

  25. Michael Johnson & Mark Henley: Troubled for You (2:15) (Ted Sherman)(Earl of Old Town - December 8, 1974) WFMT recording

  26. John Flynn: Trust the Rope (3:14) "Two Wolves" MettaFour  00342(johnflynn.net)

  27. Thom Bishop: More Than Your Share (3:49) (private recording 1974)

  28. Bob Newhart: Retirement Party (8:08) "Something like this. . . "Warner-Rhino 76742

  29. A Little Night Music (orig.B'way cast - Glynis Johns): Send in the Clowns(3:28) (Stephen Sondheim) Columbia SK 65284

  30. Walter Huston: September Song (2:28) (Kurt Weill/Maxell Anderson)"Broadway's Greatest Leading Men" Decca 314541634-2

  31. Joni Mitchell: Both Sides Now (4:30) "Hits" Reprise 9 46326-2(jonimitchell.com)

  32. Judy Collins: Who Knows Where the Time Goes (4:43) (Sandy Denny)Elektra 74033-2 (judycollins.com)

  33. Nic Jones: Ten Thousand Miles (2:53) (trad,arr.Nic Jones) "Unearthed"Mollie Music 02/03 (nicjones.net)

  34. Kate Rusby: Underneath the Stars (3:20) Compass 7 4370 2

  35. Fairport Convention-Sandy Denny:  Farewell, Farewell (2:38)(Richard Thompson)  "Liege & Lief"  A&M 4257

  36. Hamilton Camp: Hey, That's No Way to Say Goodbye (3:37) (Leonard Cohen)"Welcome to Hamilton Camp" Warner 1753

  37. Archie Fisher: The Parting Glass (2:48) (Judy Goodenough, add.lyricsArchie Fisher) "A Silent Song'  Red House 235<

  38. Jean Shepherd: The Human Comedy (Parade) (4:10) "Jean Shepherd and otherfoibles" Collectors' Choice 343-2

  39. Si Kahn w/ The Looping Brothers: What Will I Leave (3:08) "Aragon Mill -The Bluegrass Sessions" Strictly Country 72 (sikahn.com)

  40. Debra Cowan: One More Before We Go (4:02) (Bill Meek-John Conolly)"Among Friends" Muzzy House 812 (debracowan.com)

  41. Bob Zentz & Gordon Bok: All the Good People (5:18) (Ken Hicks)(Old Town School -March 31, 1979) "Together Again for the First Time" Timberhead 21 (gordonbok.com / bobzentz.com)

  42. John Stewart w/ Buffy Ford: Dreamers on the Rise (2:51) "Live at the Turf Inn, Scotland" Folk Era 142 (chillywinds.com)

  43. Hal Holbrook as Mark Twain: Dreams of Our Youth / The Mary Anne(ca. 8:00) "Mark Twain Tonight!" Columbia 3080

  44. Livingston Taylor: Thank You Song (1:07) "Livingston Taylor"Atco 33-334 (livtaylor.com)

  45. Carla Sciaky: Fathers Now Our Meeting Is Over (2:50) (trad) "Rewind"Propinquity 1124 (carlasciaky.com)

  46. Tom Paxton: Outward Bound (2:50) "The Compleat Tom Paxton"Elektra-Rhino 7870 (tompaxton.com)

  47. Stan Rogers: Leave Her, Johnny, Leave Her (2:36) (trad) "From Coffee Houseto Concert Hall" Fogarty's Cove 012 (stanrogers.net) (recordedat the Comefor to Sing benefit at Holsteins, 1981?) WFMT recording

  48. Blue Murder: The Goodnight Song (4:24) (Jim Boyes) "No One Stands Alone"Topic 537

  49. Claudia Schmidt: This Is the Hour (3:09) "Midwestern Heart"Flying Fish 70241

  50. Phil Ochs: When I'm Gone (close) (orig.on "In Concert")"Farewells & Fantasies"  Elektra-Rhino R2 73518