Ave Atque Vale: We Remember Nigel Rogers

March 2, 2022, 10:00 pm

Share this Post


In the words of harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani, “There are few who can lay claim to have rediscovered an entire art, but Nigel Rogers earned the right to be one of those people who’ve changed musical performance forever. Before him, the true sound of Monteverdi and Cavalli and Cesti and Caccini was impossible to know, and after him, it will never be the same. The word giant is one I’d almost never use for a musician of our time, but he is for sure a giant for all time.”

On this week’s edition of Baroque&Before, we offer an appreciation of the late Nigel Rogers, the renowned tenor specializing in baroque, sacred, and early music, who died January 19, 2022 at the age of 86. His repertoire is vast; tonight, we’ll hear Nigel Rogers in works by Monteverdi and Dowland.

Recordings for this edition of Baroque&Before come from WFMT’s Richard and Mary L. Gray Music Library and Oliver Camacho.


Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)
– Rosa del ciel; Io non dirò qual sia; Lasciate i monti; Vieni Imeneo
– Vi ricorda, o boschi ombrosi; Mira, deh mira Orfeo
– Ahi caso acerbo; Tu se morta mia vita
– Possente Spirto; Ben mi lusinga alquanto; Ahi sventurato amante; Ei dorme

ARTISTS: Nigel Rogers, Emilia Petrescu, Anna Reynolds, Ian Partridge, James Bowman, John Elwes, Stafford Dean, Alexander Malta; Monteverdi Choir Hamburg; Camerata Accademica Hamburg; Bläserkreis für Alte Musik Hamburg; Jürgen Jürgens, conductor
RECORDING: Monteverdi: L’Orfeo; Archiv 447 703-2

John Dowland (1563-1626)
First Booke of Songes or Ayres
– Come Away; Come, Sweet Love; Come, Heavy Sleep; Wilt thou unkind thus reave me; If my Complaints; My thoughts are wing’d with hopes

ARTISTS: Nigel Rogers, tenor; Paul O’Dette, lute
RECORDING: John Dowland: Songs for tenor and lute; Virgin Classics VC 7 90726-2