what’s playing now

      WFMT Music from Roosevelt

      Music from Roosevelt University

      Sundays at 4:00 pm

      Join Henry Fogel as he explores the rich and vibrant happenings at Roosevelt University’s Chicago College of Performing Arts where he serves as Dean. Dean Fogel offers student and faculty performances, commentary, and perspective on the latest in arts education and new talent, along with interviews of faculty, students, and alumni.

      Program Schedule

      June 7, 2015

      Ottorino Respighi: La bella dormente nel bosco (Sleeping Beauty), excerpts
      CCPA Graduate Opera and Opera Orchestra
      Emanuele Andrizzi, conductor
      Scott Gilmore, music director
      Andrew Eggert, stage director

      June 13, 2015

      Paul Hindemith (text by Marcellus Schiffer): Hin und zurück
      Jessie: Helen Wyatt
      Bessie: Cassidy Smith
      Charlie: Joseph Shadday
      Billy: Errin Brooks
      Bobby: Christopher Remmel
      Jimmy: Andrew Simpson
      CCPA Opera Orchestra
      Emanuele Andrizzi, conductor
      Scott Gilmore, music director/piano
      Andrew Eggert, stage director

      Lou Harrison: Canticle No. 1
      CCPA Percussion Ensemble
      Ed Harrison, director

      Robert Schumann: Fantasy in C Major, II. Mässig
      Younjin An, piano

      Dmitri Shostakovich: Piano Trio No. 1 in C minor, Op. 8
      Jordan Crice, piano
      Rachel Moore, violin
      Kathryn Tarko, cello

      Endre Szervánszky: Wind Quintet No.1, Movement I
      Hyeonmin Lee, flute
      Austyn-Estey-Ang, oboe
      Ryan Stockhausen, clarinet
      Nathan Kirchhoff, bassoon
      Tylar Nichols, horn

      José Pablo Moncayo: Huapango
      CCPA Symphony Orchestra
      Alondra de la Parra, conductor

      June 20, 2015

      Igor Stravinsky: Scherzo a la Russe
      CCPA Symphony Orchestra
      Emanuele Andrizzi, conductor

      Traditional: Black is the Color of My True Love’s Hair
      Thair Thompson, vocals and vocal effects

      Kyong Mee Choi: No Opposite
      CCPA Wind Ensemble
      Stephen Squires, conductor

      Jean Sibelius: Finlandia
      CCPA Symphony Orchestra
      Emanuele Andrizzi, conductor

      Kurt Weill (text by Bertolt Brecht): Mahagonny Songspiel, excerpt
      Helen, the wife: Brittany Loewen
      Robert, the husband: Joseph Shadday
      Aunt Emma: Helen Wyatt
      The Doctor: Nicholas Davis
      The Orderly: Christopher Remmel
      The Maid: Cassidy Smith
      A Sage: Errin Brooks
      CCPA Opera Orchestra
      Emanuele Andrizzi, conductor
      Scott Gilmore, music director
      Andrew Eggert, stage director

      June 27, 2015: CCPA Professional Diploma in Opera Young Artists

      Charles Gounod: “Salut! demeure chaste et pure!” from Faust
      Joe Shadday, tenor
      Scott Gilmore, piano

      Richard Wagner: “Selig, wie die Sonne” from Die Meistersinger
      Hans Sachs: Chistopher Remmel
      Eva: Brittany Loewen
      Walther: Errin Brooks
      Magdalene: Cassidy Smith
      David: Joe Shadday
      Scott Gilmore, piano

      Richard Strauss: Heimkehr, Op. 15, No. 5
      Ach weh mir unglückhaftem Mann, Op. 21, No. 4
      Der Nachtgang, Op. 29, No. 3
      Heimliche Aufforderung, Op. 27, No. 3
      Im Spätboot, Op. 56, No. 3
      Christopher Remmel, bass
      Scott Gilmore, piano

      Giacomo Puccini: “In un coupè?” from La Bohème
      Nicholas Davis – Marcello
      Errin Brooks – Rodolfo
      Scott Gilmore, piano

      Ambroise Thomas: “Connais-tu le pays” from Mignon
      Cassidy Smith, mezzo-soprano
      Scott Gilmore, piano

      Robert Wright/George Forrest (Music adapted from Alexander Borodin): “And This Is My Beloved” from Kismet
      Helen Wyatt – Marsinah
      Nicholas Davis – The Poet
      Joe Shadday – Caliph
      Andrew Simpson – Wazir
      Scott Gilmore, piano

      Richard Strauss: Final scene from Ariadne auf Naxos
      Ariadne: Brittany Loewen
      Bacchus: Errin Brooks
      Najade: Kacey Kurpinsky
      Echo/Zerbinetta: Teaira Burge
      Dryade: Chelsea Gurtowsky
      Scott Gilmore, piano

      July 5, 2015

      Percy Grainger: Lincolnshire Posy
      CCPA Wind Ensemble
      Stephen Squires, conductor

      Paul Hindemith: Concert Music for Piano, Brass, and Harps
      CCPA Wind Ensemble
      Winston Choi, piano
      Stephen Squires, conductor
      Alizabeth Nowland and Gréta Ásgeirsson, harps

      Sergei Prokofiev, arr. Fisher Tull: “March” from The Love for Three Oranges 
      CCPA Brass and Percussion Ensemble
      Stephen Squires, conductor

      July 12, 2015

      Ludwig van Beethoven: 33 Variations on a Theme of Diabelli
      Adam Neiman, piano

      July 19, 2015

      Joaquin Turina, arr. Alfred Reed: La Procession du Rocio
      CCPA Wind Ensemble
      Stephen Squires, conductor

      Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major, D. 485
      CCPA Chamber Orchestra
      Emanuele Andrizzi, conductor

      Claude Debussy: Lindaraja for Two Pianos, L. 103
      Scott Gilmore and Ludmila Lazar, pianos

      Stuart Folse: Alleluia
      CCPA Conservatory Chorus and Chorale
      Mark Crayton, conductor

      July 26, 2015

      Frédéric Chopin: Piano Sonata No. 2 in B-flat Major, Op. 35 –Movements I and II
      Li Wang, piano

      Robert Schumann: Faschingsschwank aus Wien, Op. 26 –Movement I
      Allison Wang, piano

      Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 30 in E Major, Op. 109 – Movement III
      Stephen Uhl, piano

      Johannes Brahms: Three Intermezzi, Op. 117
      Mizi Li, piano