Chicago Symphony Orchestra in its 125th Year (Photo: Todd Rosenberg)

Sundays at 1:00 pm

Chicago concertgoers know the thunderclap precision and exquisite artistry of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. With this radio series – and a record number of Grammy Award-winning recordings – the CSO sets the standard for musicians. The Chicago Symphony presents the full range of orchestral works under the seasoned baton of music director Riccardo Muti. The top tier soloists and guest conductors complete the series with artists like Yo-Yo Ma, Matthias Goerne, and Daniil Trifonov; as well as Esa-Pekka Salonen, Mitsuko Uchida, and Bernard Haitink. Hosted by Lisa Simeone, the two-hour Chicago Symphony Orchestra broadcasts include dynamic and innovative commentary, which takes the listener behind the scenes and into the music.

January 1, 2017
“From the Archives” Special Program

Brahms: Academic Festival Overture (Theodore Thomas, conductor)
Wagner: Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan and Isolde (Artur Rodzinski, conductor)
Elgar: Enigma Variations (Sir Georg Solti, conductor)
Strauss: Ein Heldenleben (Fritz Reiner, conductor)
Tchaikovsky: Final Waltz and Apotheosis from The Nutcracker (Morton Gould, conductor)

January 8, 2017
Charles Dutoit, conductor
Javier Perianes, piano
Daniella Mack, mezzo-soprano

Ravel: Alborada del gracioso
Falla: Nights in the Gardens of Spain
Dukas: The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
Falla: The Three-Cornered Hat
Encore: Falla: El amor brujo from 1963 RCA (Leontyne Price, soprano; Fritz Reiner, conductor)

January 15, 2017
Riccardo Muti, conductor

Mason Bates: Anthology of Fantastic Zoology
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 in E Minor, Op. 64
Ravel: Boléro

January 22, 2017
James Feddeck, conductor
Chris Martin, trumpet

Frank: Les Éolides
Haydn: Trumpet Concerto in E-flat Major
Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 2 in E Minor, Op. 27
Encore: Tchaikovsky: Romeo and Juliet (Mark Elder, conductor)

January 29, 2017
Charles Dutoit, conductor
Robert Chen, violin
Yo-Yo Ma, cello

Ravel: Valses nobles et sentimentales
Debussy: Symphonic Fragments from The Martyrdom of St. Sebastian
Saint-Saëns: La muse et le poète, Op. 132
Lalo: Cello Concerto in D Minor
Encore: Debussy: Prelude to The Afternoon of a Faun (Christian Macelaru, conductor)

February 5, 2017
Charles Dutoit, conductor

Stravinsky: Fireworks, Op. 4
Stravinsky: Symphony in C
Stravinsky: The Firebird
Encore: Bartók: Suite from The Miraculous Mandarín, Op. 19

February 12, 2017
Jaap van Zweden and Sakari Oramo, conductors
Yuja Wang, piano

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7 in C Major (Leningrad)
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3

February 19, 2017
Riccardo Muti, conductor
CSO Chorus
Erin Wall, soprano
Okka von der Damerau, mezzo-soprano
Steve Davislim, tenor
Eric Owens, bass

Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 in D Minor
Bruckner: Te Deum
Encore: Ravel: Rapsodie espagnole

February 26, 2017, 7:00 pm
Riccardo Muti, conductor
Leif Ove Andsnes, piano

Beethoven: Leonore Overture No. 3, Op. 72b
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 20 in D Minor, K. 466
Hindemith: Concert Music for String Orchestra and Brass, Op. 50
Prokofiev: Scythian Suite, Op. 20
Encore: Mendelssohn: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage Overture, Op. 27

March 5, 2017
Edo de Waart, conductor
Daniel Gingrich, horn

Mozart: Symphony No. 38 in D Major, K. 504 (Prague)
Mozart: Horn Concerto No. 3 in E-flat Major, K. 447
Beethoven: Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 36
Encore: Bates: Alternative Energy from CSO Resound (Riccardo Muti, conductor)

March 12, 2017
Bernard Haitink, conductor
Mahler: Symphony No. 7
Encore: Haydn: Sinfonia concertante in B-flat Major, Hob. I:105 (Robert Chen, violin; John Sharp, cello; Eugene Izotov, oboe; David McGill, bassoon)

March 19, 2017
Riccardo Muti, conductor
Julia Fischer, violin

Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61
Brahms: Serenade No. 1 in D Major, Op. 11
Encore: Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1 in D Major, Op. 25 (Classical)

March 26, 2017
Jaap van Zweden, conductor

Shostakovich: Five Fragments, Op. 42
Britten: Sinfonia da requiem, Op. 20
Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major Op. 100
Encore: Stravinsky: Symphony in Three Movements from CSO Resound (Pierre Boulez, conductor)