Robert Chen and Matthew Hagle

October 15, 2018, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Robert Chen
Robert Chen

Chicago Symphony Orchestra Concertmaster Robert Chen and pianist Matthew Hagle return to the Fay and Daniel Levin Performance Studio for a program of music for violin and piano by Brahms, Ysaÿe, C. Schumann, and R. Strauss.


Violin Sonata No. 2 in A Major, by Johannes Brahms
Allegro amabile
Andante tranquillo – Vivace – Andante – Vivace di più – Andante – Vivace
Allegretto grazioso (quasi andante)

Sonata No. 3 in D Minor, “Georges Enescu”, by Eugène Ysaÿe
Ballades; Lento multo sostenuto

Three Romances for Violin and Piano, by Clara Schumann
Andante molto
Leidenschaftlich schnell

Violin Sonata, by Richard Strauss
Allegro, ma non troppo
Improvisation: Andante cantabile
Finale: Andante – Allegro