April 1, 2019, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Picosa is a mixed Chicago based ensemble known for producing virtuosic symphony-like sound. They are dedicated to presenting repertoire from across the centuries. Tonight will be a rebroadcast of their performance from June 11, 2018.

Jennie Oh Brown, Flute
Andrea DiOrio, Clarinet
Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite, Violin
Paula Kowoser, Cello
Jonathon Kirk, Composer-In-Residence
Kuang-Hao Huang, Piano



Picosa is a Chicago-based mixed chamber ensemble known for its signature symphonic sound and virtuosity.  The ensemble’s unique approach to programming presents celebrated masterworks from across the centuries and around the globe.

Picosa concerts are community gatherings, with open receptions and lively conversations after every event.  We are also committed to nurturing rising young musicians through our Interludes Chamber Ensembles program,where student and amateur musicians play in pre-concert performances, and through our workshops, concerts, and residencies at local colleges.  Additionally, Picosa seeks to be an arts collective, featuring cross-genre collaborations each season.

Musicians of Picosa believe in the value of bringing music to underserved communities.  We are proud to partner with Hesed House, a national model for ending homelessness.  Through workshops for its resident children, donations of needed goods, and monetary donations, we are confident that music has the power to change lives.

Courtesy of the ensemble’s website.


  • Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun, by Claude Debussy
    transcribed by Jonathon Kirk

  • Cìrculo, Op 91, by Joaquin Turina

  • London Trio No. 1 in C Major, (Hob. IV, No. 1), by Joseph Haydn
    Allegro moderato