Thomas Søndergård conducts music of Sibelius, Tchaikovsky, and Rachmaninoff

August 11, 2019, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Thomas Søndergård (Photo: Martin Bubandt)

Danish conductor Thomas Søndergård made his Chicago Symphony Orchestra debut with this program of works by Sibelius and Rachmaninoff. Plus, pianist Alexander Gavrylyuk joins the CSO to perform Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1.


Sibelius: Nocturne and Ballade from King Christian II Suite, Op. 27

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1 in B-flat Minor, Op. 23
Alexander Gavrylyuk, piano

Schumann: “Von fremden Ländern und Menschen” from Kinderszenen, Op. 15, No. 1
Alexander Gavrylyuk, piano

Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 1 in D minor, Op.13

Mendelssohn: Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Op. 61
Jean Martinon, conductor