Sibelius, Berlioz, Berg and Liszt

November 1, 2019, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

Leonard Bernstein. Courtesy The New York Philharmonic, The Leon Levy Digital Collection

A collection of recordings from the archives, including the Mephisto Waltz by Liszt. Also featured on this broadcast: Berg’s Lulu Suite, The Death of Cleopatra by Berlioz, and the Symphony No. 2 by Jean
Sibelius. Leonard Bernstein, Zubin Mehta, and Kurt Masur conduct.


Sibelius: Symphony #2, Zubin Mehta conducting
Berlioz: “The Death of Cleopatra,” Jennie Tourel, mezzo-soprano, Leonard Bernstein conducting
Berg: Lyric Suite and:
Liszt: “Mephisto Waltz,” both conducted by Kurt Masur