Guests in the House

December 29, 2020, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Pierre Monteux

Legendary guest conductors have led the Chicago Symphony Orchestra since the beginning of the ensemble’s history. The performances on this program span nearly fifty years, from Pierre Monteux leading Franck’s Symphony in D minor to John Williams conducting his Suite from Memoirs of a Geisha with Yo-Yo Ma as soloist. Leopold Stokowski also leads Khachaturian’s Third Symphony along with Neeme Järvi conducting Kodály’s Dances of Galánta.Symphony No. 3 in C Major


Symphony No. 3 in C Major, by Aram Khachaturian
Chicago Symphony Orchestra; Leopold Stokowski, conductor

Suite from Memoirs of a Geisha for Cello and Orchestra, by John Williams
Chicago Symphony Orchestra; John Williams, conductor; Yo-Yo Ma, cello

Dances of Galánta, by Zoltan Kodály
Chicago Symphony Orchestra; Neeme Järvi, conductor; Laurence Kaptain, cimbalom

Symphony in D Minor, by César Franck
Chicago Symphony Orchestra; Pierre Monteux, conductor