Lara Downes, Rachel Barton Pine, Ifetayo Ali-Landing, & the Chicago Sinfonietta

September 27, 2021, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Lara Downes

Season Finale: from September 7, pianist Lara Downes, violinist Rachel Barton Pine, and cellist Ifetayo Ali-Landing are joined by members of the Chicago Sinfonietta to perform music by Black composers: Margaret Bonds, Florence Price, William Grant Still, and more.


Margaret Bonds: The Bells and Troubled Water from Spiritual Suite

Margaret Bonds: “Dream Variations” from Three Dream Portraits

William Grant Still: Summerland from Three Visions

Nora Holt: Nora’s Dance

Florence Price: Sketches in Sepia

Florence Price: Andante con espressione

Florence Price: Piano Quintet in A minor

Lil Hardin Armstrong: “Just For a Thrill” (arr. Jeremy Siskind)

Sam Cooke: “A Change Is Gonna Come” (arr. Jeremy Siskind)