Historic Piano Concerto Recordings

October 31, 2021, 10:00 pm

Share this Post

Josef Hofmann performs to a full audience at the Metropolitan Opera House

Performances by Hambourg, Hofmann, Levitzki, and Rachmaninoff (playing his own music).


Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1
Mark Hambourg, piano; BBC Symphony Orchestra: Malcolm Sargent, conductor

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 4
Josef Hofmann, piano; Philadelphia Orchestra: Eugene Ormandy, conductor

Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2
Sergei Rachmaninoff, piano; Philadelphia Orchestra: Leopold Stokowski, conductor

Franz Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 1
Mischa Levitzki, piano; London Symphony Orchestra: Landon Ronald, conductor