Ravel, Brahms, Zhang Weiliang, and Bruckner

January 27, 2022, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

Pianist Bruce Liu (photo: NCPA)

This week China’s National Centre for the Performing Arts presents Anton Bruckner’s bold and colorful Symphony No. 6, Brahms’ choral and orchestral work Nänie, and Zhang Weiliang’s luscious folk-inspired Dreamworld for Dizi and Orchestra. Also featured is the 2021 Chopin Competition winner, Bruce Liu, in Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G Major.


Ravel: Piano Concerto in G Major
Bruce Liu, piano; NCPA Orchestra: Lü Jia, conductor

Brahms: Nänie, Op. 82
NCPA Orchestra and Chorus: Lü Jia, conductor

Zhang Weiliang: Dreamworld for Dizi and Orchestra
Zhang Weiliang, Dizi; Beijing Chinese Orchestra: Zhang Ming, conductor

Bruckner: Symphony No. 6
NCPA Orchestra: Lü Jia, conductor