Wang Yunfei, Strauss II, Qigang Chen, Beethoven, Schubert, and Zhang Qianyi

March 24, 2022, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

Composer Qigang Chen (photo: NCPA)

This week, we’ll hear Wang Yunfei’s Spring Flowers and Autumn Fruits, Franz Schubert’s brilliant Symphony No. 9, Strauss Jr’s hypnotic By the Beautiful Blue Danube, Qigang Chen’s colorful work Jiang Tcheng Tse, Beethoven’s Overture to the Ruins of Athens, and Zhang Qianyi’s Overture “My Homeland”.


Wang Yufei: Chinese Orchestral Music Spring Flowers and Autumn Fruits
China National Traditional Orchestra: Liu Sha

Strauss II: Blue Danube Waltz, Op. 314
NCPA Orchestra: Lü Jia, conductor

Chen Qigang: Jiang Tcheng Tse for Peking Opera Style Female Singer, Mixed Chorus and Symphony
Meng Meng, soprano; NCPA Orchestra and Chorus: Lü Jia, conductor

Beethoven: Overture to Die Ruinen von Athens, Op. 113
NCPA Orchestra: Lü Jia, conductor

Schubert: Symphony No. 9 in C Major, D. 944
NCPA Orchestra: Lü Jia, conductor

Zhang Qianyi: Overture “My Homeland”, for the Chamber Orchestra, from the Prelude of The Road to Revival
Beijing Symphony Orchestra: Tan Lihua, conductor

Chopin: Nocturne No. 21 in C Minor
Chen Sa, piano