Conlon & Gavrylyuk

May 15, 2022, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

James Conlon
James Conlon (Photo: Dan Steinberg for LA Opera)

James Conlon conducts Bach’s Air on the G String in memory of Dutch conductor Bernard Haitink, who served as the CSO’s first principal conductor from 2006 until 2010. Shostakovich’s Chamber Symphony for Strings in C Minor follows. Alexander Gavrylyuk performs Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 1, which the composer himself premiered in the U.S. with the CSO in 1918. The program continues with Schubert’s Symphony No. 3. Haitink leads the final movement of Mahler’s Symphony No. 3—from the debut release on CSO Resound—to round out the broadcast.


Bach/Wilhelmj: Air on the G String from Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D Major, BWV 1068

Shostakovich/Barshai: Chamber Symphony for Strings in C Minor, Op. 110a

Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D-flat Major, Op. 10
Alexander Gavrylyuk, piano

Schubert: Symphony No. 3 in D Major, D. 200

Mahler: 6th Movement (Langsam—Ruhevoll—Empfunden) from Symphony No. 3