Rachlin Plays The Four Seasons

May 22, 2022, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Julian Rachlin (Photo: Julia Wesely)

Violinist Julian Rachlin makes his conducting debut with the CSO in two stirring interpretations on the same theme. The program begins with Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons and ends with Piazzolla’s The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, arranged in the opposite order to Vivaldi’s to account for the Southern Hemisphere. In between, Rachlin leads Mozart’s Divertimento in D Major. Finally, Jean Martinon, the CSO’s seventh music director from 1963 until 1968, conducts Nobilissima visione by Hindemith from an RCA release.


Vivaldi: The Four Seasons
Julian Rachlin, violin

Mozart: Divertimento in D Major, K. 136

Piazzolla/Desyatnikov: The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires
Julian Rachlin, violin

Hindemith: Nobilissima visione
Jean Martinon, conductor