Sheku Kanneh-Mason and Simone Young

September 9, 2022, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

Cellist Sheku Kanneh-Mason (L, Photo: Jake Turney) and conductor Simone Young (R)

Sheku Kanneh-Mason, the first Black musician to win the BBC Young Musician Award, is the soloist in Dvořák’s Cello Concerto on this week’s broadcast. Also on this Simone Young-conducted program is J.S. Bach’s Ricercar a 6 as arranged by Anton Webern, the first symphony by Johannes Brahms, and a short work by Larissa Lakner, a student in the Philharmonic’s Very Young Composers program.


All works conducted by Simone Young

Bach: Fuga (Ricercata) from “Musical Offering” (arr. Webern)

Dvořák: Cello Concerto in B minor
Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cello

Lakner: Three-Minute Cello Concerto

Brahms: Symphony No. 1 in C minor