A Sibelius Sojourn

October 7, 2022, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

Jean Sibelius
Jean Sibelius

This week’s broadcast is dedicated to the music of the great Finnish composer Jean Sibelius, who lived from 1865 to 1957. We hope you’ll enjoy this sojourn through some of his greatest works, including the Violin Concerto, the Symphony No. 2, and some miniatures. Zubin Mehta, Leonard Bernstein, Sir Thomas Beechum, and Lorin Maazel share conducting duties.


All works composed by Jean Sibelius

Zubin Mehta, conductor

Pohola’s Daughter
Leonard Bernstein, conductor

Violin Concerto
Zino Francescatti, violin; Leonard Bernstein, conductor

II: Mélisande from Pelleas & Mélisande
Sir Thomas Beechum, conductor

Symphony No. 2
Lorin Maazel, conductor