November 7 – November 11, 2022

November 11, 2022, 12:00 pm

Share this Post

Seventeenth Church of Christ, Scientist, Chicago (Photo: John Cahill Photography)

Monday, November 7— John Bruce Yeh

John Bruce Yeh joined the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in 1977 as bass clarinet at the age of 19. Two years later, he was named assistant principal and E-flat clarinet. The longest-serving clarinetist in CSO history, he also served as acting principal clarinet from 2008 to 2011.


Prelude, Fugue and Riffs by Leonard Bernstein

Tuesday, November 8 — William Ferris Chorale

The William Ferris Chorale brings Chicago audiences new and unexpected choral music in programs highlighting music written by living composers. The Chorale has given over 175 world, American, and Chicago premieres of important new literature.


Two Motets by Alan Hovhaness

Wednesday, November 9 — Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concert Series: Danae DörkenDanae Dörken

The German-Greek pianist Danae Dörken belongs to the elite of internationally sought-after artists of a new generation, who captivates audiences and fellow musicians alike with her breathtaking technique, extraordinary stage presence, and musical depth.

Music of Fazil Say, Claude Debussy, Manos Hatzidakis, and Felix Mendelssohn

Thursday, November 10 — KAIA String Quartet

From the tango of the Rio de la Plata to the string quartets of Silvestre Revueltas, the KAIA String Quartet is an ensemble devoted to promoting the rich and colorful music of Latin America. The quartet plays an active role in Chicago’s music scene where they are regular guests at the Chicago Latino Music Festival and the Ukrainian Institute of Modern Art.


Canyengue by Elbio Barilari

Friday, November 11 — Brant Taylor and Kuang Hao Huang

Cellist Brant Taylor’s varied career includes solo appearances and collaborations with leading chamber musicians throughout North America, Europe, and Asia. He was appointed to the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in 1998. In 2004, Taylor visited WFMT for a live performance with pianist Kuang Hao Huang.

Music of Maurice Ravel and Enrique Granados