Conlon & Gavrylyuk

January 15, 2023, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

James Conlon
James Conlon (Photo: Dan Steinberg for LA Opera)

James Conlon returns to the CSO podium to conduct Schubert’s Third Symphony, Shostakovich’s Chamber Symphony for Strings, and Prokofiev’s First Piano Concerto featuring Alexander Gavrylyuk. Also included are tributes to former principal conductor Bernard Haitink: Bach’s Air on the G String and the final movement from Mahler’s Third Symphony.


Bach/Wilhelmj: Air on the G String from Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D Major, BWV 1068
Bernard Haitink, conductor

Shostakovich/Barshai: Chamber Symphony for Strings in C Minor, Op. 110a
James Conlon, conductor

Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D-flat Major, Op. 10
Alexander Gavrylyuk, piano; James Conlon, conductor

Schubert: Symphony No. 3 in D Major, D. 200
James Conlon, conductor