De Waart & Josefowicz

April 2, 2023, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Violinist Leila Josefowicz (Photo: Chris Lee)

Edo de Waart opens this program with John AdamsThe Chairman Dances, followed by Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto in D featuring Leila Josefowicz and Dvořák’s Eighth Symphony. Then, Claudio Abbado, the CSO’s second principal guest conductor from 1982 until 1985, leads Brahms’s Double Concerto featuring violinist Issac Stern and cellist Yo-Yo Ma from a 1986 CBS release.


Adams: The Chairman Dances (Foxtrot for Orchestra)

Stravinsky: Violin Concerto in D
Leila Josefowicz, violin

Dvořák: Symphony No. 8 in G Major, Op. 88
Edo de Waart, conductor

Brahms: Concerto for Violin and Cello in A Minor, Op. 102 (Double)
Issac Stern, violin; Yo-Yo Ma, cello; Claudio Abbado, conductor