Jaap van Zweden Conducts Tchaikovsky and a Premiere by Julia Adolphe

April 14, 2023, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

Jaap van Zweden
New York Philharmonic music director Jaap van Zweden (Photo: Roger Neve)

This presentation features the Philharmonic’s music director, Jaap van Zweden, leading a program of works by Wagner, Tchaikovsky, and Julia Adolphe. The program opens with Wagner’s Prelude to Act I of his opera, Lohengrin. Principal viola Cynthia Phelps is then featured as soloist in Unearth, Release, a new concerto by Julia Adolphe and a New York Philharmonic Co-Commission. The broadcast concludes with Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4.

We visit with Phelps & Adolphe during the course of the show. Alec Baldwin is your host.


Wagner: Prelude to Act I, Lohengrin

Adolphe: Unearth, Release (Concerto for Viola & Orchestra)
Cynthia Phelps, viola

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4