Rakitina, Weilerstein & Tchaikovsky

May 7, 2023, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Anna Rakitina
Anna Rakitina (Photo: Julia Piven)

Anna Rakitina makes her debut with the CSO leading an all-Tchaikovsky program. Included in the program is Tchaikovsky’s Capriccio Italien, Variations on a Roccoco Theme, Pezzo capriccioso, followed by an encore of Bach’s Saranamde from Suite No. 2, featuring Alisa Weilerstein, plus Suite from The Nutcracker. Closing the broadcast, Sir Georg Solti conducts Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms.


Works conducted by Anna Rakitina unless otherwise noted

Tchaikovsky: Capriccio Italien, Op. 45

Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Roccoco Theme for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 33

Tchaikovsky: Pezzo capriccioso, Op. 62
Alisa Weilerstein, cello

Bach: Sarabande from Suite No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1008
Alisa Weilerstein, cello

Tchaikovsky: Suite from The Nutcracker, Op. 71a

Stravinsky: Symphony of Psalms
Sir Georg Solti, conductor; Chicago Symphony Chorus: Duain Wolfe, director