Lyadov, Stravinsky, and John Adams

May 19, 2023, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

Leila Josefowicz poses with her violin in front of a background
Leila Josefowicz (Photo: Tom Zimberoff)

Alan Gilbert conducts this performance from 2015, which includes Anatoly Lyadov’s depiction of a picturesque forest, The Enchanted Lake, followed by the Stravinsky’s original 1911 orchestration of the ballet Petrushka. Violinist Leila Josefowicz is the soloist in the world premiere of Scheherazade.2 by John Adams, a dramatic symphony composed with the strength of women in mind.


All works conducted by Alan Gilbert

Anatoly Lyadov: The Enchanted Lake

Igor Stravinsky: Petrushka (1911)

John Adams: Scheherazade.2 [world premiere]
Leila Josefowicz, violin