The Gesualdo Six: Josquin’s Legacy

June 21, 2023, 10:00 pm

Share this Post

A female flutist and female lutenist are among seven women and four men, enjoy the outdoors and each others' company.
Flemish School (c. 1530): "The Prodigal Son Among the Courtesans"

Tonight’s program features chansons, motets, and antiphons that illuminate the music of Josquin des Prez and his Franco-Flemish circle in the late 15 and early 16th centuries. This music of the High Renaissance is brought back to life by the Gesualdo Six, directed by founder and bass Owain Park.

Tonight’s program was recorded live in concert October 10, 2022 in London’s Wigmore Hall. Thanks to WFMT’s association with the European Broadcasting Union, we’re able to present tonight’s program as a stream for thirty days following our broadcast. A blue “Listen” button will appear when the stream is accessible.


Jean Mouton (before 1459-1522) – Tota pulchra es

Josquin des Prez (1455-1521) – Praeter rerum seriem

Antonius Divitis (ca 1470-ca 1530) – Ista est speciosa

Jean L’Héritier (ca 1480-ca 1555) – Salve Regina

Antoine Brumel (ca 1460-ca 1515) – Sicut Lilium

Antoine de Févin (1470-1512) – Nesciens mater

Josquin des Prez – Nymphes des bois (“La déploration de Johannes Ockeghem”)
Anonymous (Plainsong) – Incipit, from Lectio 1, from ‘Lamentations of Jeremiah’

Josquin des Prez – Mille Regretz
Anonymous (Plainsong) – Aleph, from Lectio 1, from “Lamentations of Jeremiah”

Pierre de La Rue (1452-1518) – Secretz Regretz
Anonymous (Plainsong) – Beth, from Lectio 1, from “Lamentations of Jeremiah”

Antoine Brumel (ca 1460-ca 1515) – Tous les regretz
Anonymous (Plainsong) – Ghimel, from Lectio 1, from “Lamentations of Jeremiah”

Loyset Compère (ca 1445-1518) – Venez regretz
Anonymous (Plainsong) – Jerusalem, Jerusalem, from Lectio 1, from “Lamentations of Jeremiah”

Costanzo Festa (ca 1485-90-1545) – Quis dabit oculis

Josquin des Prez – O virgo prudentissima

Thomas Tallis (ca 1505-1585) – O nata lux de lumine

The Gesualdo Six: Guy James, countertenor; Joseph Wicks & Josh Cooter, tenors; Michael Craddock, baritone; Sam Mitchell, bass; Owain Park, bass & artistic director