Sofia Radovic, 17, violin & viola

June 24, 2023, 11:00 am

Share this Post

Sofia Radovic

This week on Introductions we feature Sofia Radovic. This student at Midwest Young Artists Conservatory plays both violin and viola in this solo recital, including works by local composers Augusta Read Thomas and Miriam Kessler. She’s joined by pianist Daniel Schlosberg.

Sofia Eva Radovic, 17, began her music education with violin study at age six at the Wheaton College Community School of the Arts. She currently studies violin and viola with Desirée Ruhstrat and she has just finished her high school junior year of home schooling.

Her first solo performance with orchestra was at age with the Fox Valley Philharmonic Orchestra, and has since been a soloist with the Wheaton College Symphony Orchestra, Elgin Youth Symphony Orchestras, the Youth Symphony of DuPage, and the Northern Illinois University Sinfonia.

Sofia is a former member of the Midwest Young Artists Conservatory symphony and chamber programs. Her group Golden Trio was selected for the quarter-finals of the 2021 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition and appeared on Introductions in July of that year. She has had the opportunity to perform in many chamber groups in different combinations and different capacities, including at the OPUS Chamber Music Camp in Naperville. She is also involved in the musical activities of the Holy Resurrection Serbian Orthodox Cathedral in Chicago, including its choirs and its Soko folklore groups.

She plays violin, viola, cello and piano. As well as music performance, Sofia composes and arranges in various genres, records theatrical scenes, and does videography. She enjoys performing with her sisters, friends, and many ensembles in the Western Suburbs. She and her two younger sisters enjoy performing ethnic Balkan folk music and classical music at Chicago-area churches, community festivals, weddings, and cultural events. She also enjoys competitive tennis, drawing, creative writing, creating theatrical music videos, and spending time with her friends and family.


Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 63:
I. Allegro moderato
Sofia Radovic, violin; Daniel Schlosberg, piano

Augusta Read Thomas: Incantation
Sofia Radovic, violin

William Walton: Viola Concerto:
I. Andante comodo
Sofia Radovic, viola; Daniel Schlosberg, piano

Alan Hovhaness: Chahagir
Sofia Radovic, viola

Miriam Kessler: Op. 105
Sofia Radovic, violin; Daniel Schlosberg, piano

Vittorio Monti: Csárdás
Sofia Radovic, violin; Daniel Schlosberg, piano