Muti Conducts Mozart & Prokofiev

June 25, 2023, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Riccardo Muti conducts the Chicago Symphony Orchestra (Photo: Todd Rosenberg)

This week, we celebrate Riccardo Muti‘s 13th and culminating season as the CSO’s tenth music director. The program opens with Rossini’s Overture to Il viaggio a Reims, continues with Mozart’s Symphony No. 39 and Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 5. Opening the broadcast is Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D Major, featuring Concertmaster Robert Chen, Principal Flute Stefán Ragnar Höskuldsson and harpsichordist Mark Shuldiner.


All works conducted by Riccardo Muti

Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D Major, BWV 1050
Robert Chen, violin; Stefán Ragnar Höskuldsson, flute; Mark Shuldiner, harpsichord

Rossini: Overture to Il viaggio a Reims

Mozart: Symphony No. 39 in E-flat Major, K. 543

Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major, Op. 100