The Beethoven Piano Concertos: Part I

July 7, 2023, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

Yefim Bronfman is the soloist in the first of three broadcasts from the NY Phil’s 2014 cycle of the Beethoven piano concertos. Between the First and Fourth Concertos, you’ll hear Anthony Cheung’s Lyra, a work the composer said was inspired by the noted relationship between Beethoven’s Fourth Concerto and the Orpheus myth.


Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C major, Op. 15
Yefim Bronfman, piano

Anthony Cheung: Lyra (World Premiere–New York Philharmonic Commission)

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58
Yefim Bronfman, piano