Afkham & Gluzman

December 10, 2023, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

David Afkham, dressed in black, holds his conductor's baton with a half-smile
David Afkham (Photo: Gisela Schenker)

David Afkham returns to the CSO podium to lead Debussy’s La mer and Ravel’s La valse. Opening the program is Ravel’s Menuet antique. Next, Vadim Gluzman joins in Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1. Plus, Bernard Haitink conducts Webern’s Im Sommerwind.


Works conducted by David Afkham except where otherwise noted

Maurice Ravel: Menuet antique

Dmitri Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 77
Vadim Gluzman, violin

Claude Debussy: La mer

Maurice Ravel: La valse

Anton Webern: Im Sommerwind
Bernard Haitink, conductor