The Sound of Home: Debussy, Caroline Shaw and Florence Price

January 5, 2024, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

Caroline Shaw looks pensive in a clearing of trees
Caroline Shaw (Photo: Kait Moreno)

From its sinuous opening flute solo, Debussy’s Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun blossoms into a dazzling kaleidoscope of orchestral sound. The musical celebration of our new hall continues with a US Premiere by Pulitzer Prize-winner Caroline Shaw, featuring the versatile vocal ensemble Roomful of Teeth. Price’s Symphony No. 4 is a bustling synthesis of distinctly American musical styles.


Claude Debussy: Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune (Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun)

Caroline Shaw: Microfictions, Vol. 3

Florence Price: Symphony No. 4