20th Century Masterworks

March 14, 2024, 10:00 pm

Share this Post

Anton Webern black and white portrait
Anton Webern

We explore the “Romantic side” of three 20th century masters in this broadcast: Webern, Schoenberg, and Ives. The program opens with Webern’s Straussian Im Sommerwind or “In the Summer Breeze.” That’s followed by Schoenberg’s lush tone portrait of the doomed lovers Pelleas and Melisande. After a first half dominated by the Second Viennese School, we then return to local shores with a performance of a work premiered by the New York Philharmonic in 1951: The Symphony No. 2 by insurance-exec-by-day/composer-by-night, Charles Ives. Alan Gilbert conducts.


Anton Webern: Im Sommerwind (In the Summer Wind, Idyll for Orchestra)
Arnold Schoenberg: Pelleas und Melisande, Op. 5
Charles Ives: Symphony No. 2
Charles Ives: The Unanswered Question