Collectors’ Corner with Henry Fogel


Host Henry Fogel guides listeners through his personal record collection.

Collectors’ Corner is about discovering and rediscovering music that rocked the world in days gone by. Host Henry Fogel crafts an historical narrative out of his personal record collection, a treasury amassed from decades of jaunts to record stores and resale shops across the globe. Fogel picks a wide range of recordings which he considers, “true classics of the industry…either unusual repertoire that I feel deserve a wider public, or performances unique in their interpretive profile, sense of commitment, and intensity.”

There are no upcoming broadcasts at the moment.

The Young Yehudi Menuhin, Week 1

June 25, 2017

This broadcast is the first in a two-part series featuring the talents of violinist Yehudi Menuhin.

Music by Lili Boulanger

June 18, 2017

This broadcast features a sampling of works by Lili Boulanger.

Music by Xiaogang Ye

June 11, 2017

This broadcast features a sampling of works by Xiaogang Ye.

Music by Ernst Bacon

June 2, 2017

This broadcast features a sampling of works by Ernst Bacon.

Music by Erland von Koch

May 28, 2017

Henry offers a sampling of works by Erland von Koch, including Nordic Capriccio, Oxberg Variations, and Lapland Metamorphoses performed by the Swedish Radio Symphony and Stockholm Philharmonic.

Historic Wagner Performances, Week 3

May 21, 2017

Rounding out this three-week series featuring the works of Richard Wagner, this broadcast features selections from Die Walküre, Götterdämmerung, The Flying Dutchman, and Tristan and Isolde.

Historic Wagner Performances, Week 2

May 14, 2017

The second in a three-part series, this broadcast features excerpts from Wagner’s Die Walküre, Götterdämmerung, and Lohengrin.

Historic Wagner Performances, Week 1

May 7, 2017

The first in a three-part series, this broadcast features pieces from Wagner’s Tristan and Isolde, Lohengrin, and Flying Dutchman.

A Stunning Solti-led Live Carmen

June 26, 2016

Bizet: Carmen, abridged (Shirley Verrett, Placido Domingo, José van Dam, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa; Royal Opera House Orchestra) Opera d’Oro 7010

Three Great Violin Concerto Recordings by Bronislaw Huberman

June 19, 2016

Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D (with Berlin State Opera Orchestra/Wm Steinberg) Naxos 8.110903 Brahms: Violin Concerto in D (with New York Philharmonic/Artur Rodzinski) Pristine 421 Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D (with Vienna Philharmonic/George Szell) Pristine 421