Mexican Composers: The Group of Four

October 15, 2016, 7:00 pm

Share this Post

"Mexican Flag"by PVCG is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

As the Russian’s have their Group of Five and the French their Group of Six, Mexican music boasts the “Grupo de los Cuatro” or Group of Four. They are Daniel Ayala, Salvador Contreras, Blas Galindo and José Pablo Moncayo. We will feature music and stories of these great composers.


Tierra de temporal, by José Pablo Moncayo
Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de México, Sergio Cárdenas (conductor)

Tribu, by Daniel Ayala 
Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de México, Luis Herrera de la Fuente (conductor)

Danza negra, by Salvador Contreras
Filarmónica de la Ciudad de México, Eduardo Díaz Muñoz (conductor)

Homenaje a Cervantes, by Blas Galindo
Orquesta Filarmónica de la ciudad de México, Enrique Bátiz (conductor)

Me gustas cuando callas, by Blas Galindo
Gregg Smith Singers, Rosalind Rees (conductor)