Merz Trio

December 19, 2018, 12:15 pm

Share this Post

The Merz Trio presents works of Schumann, Schubert, and Brahms live on this Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concert.

Merz Trio
Lee Dionne, piano
Brigid Coleridge, violin
Julia Yang, cello

Merz Trio was formed in 2017 and has quickly gained a standing as a unique and award-winning ensemble. Recipients of the First Prize and Audience Prize at the 2018 Chesapeake International Chamber Music Competition, Merz Trio has additionally appeared as a semifinalist at the M-Prize Chamber Arts Competition and in recital at the prestigious Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition. Highlights of their 2018-2019 season include a residency at Avaloch Farm, two residencies at Snape Maltings in Aldeburgh, UK, and major performances in New York, Boston, and Chicago.

Merz Trio’s members – Lee Dionne, piano, Brigid Coleridge, violin, and Julia Yang, cello – are passionate artists and determined innovators, committed to bringing classical music into living dialogue with other art forms. Their ongoing Macbeth project, pairing musical selections with excerpts from Shakespeare’s play, and featuring work by dance soloist Caroline Copeland, was a finalist for a 2017 Tarisio Young Artists Grant. Other multidisciplinary projects include collaborations with Michelin star chef David Bouley and pairings of piano trios with texts by W.G. Sebald and art by Kurt Schwitters.

Based in New York City, Merz Trio is currently the graduate trio in residence at New England Conservatory, where they coach regularly with Vivian Weilerstein, Don Weilerstein, and Yeesun Kim. Other important mentors include the Brentano Quartet, Daniel Phillips, Marcy Rosen, Natasha Brofsky, Seth Knopp, and Thomas Sauer.

Biography courtesy of IMF Chicago

  • Selections from 6 Studies in Canonic Form, by Schumann
    I. Nicht zu schnell
    VI. Nicht zu schnell

  • Notturno in E-flat Major, Op. 148, by Schubert

  • Piano Trio No. 3, Op. 101, by Brahms
    Allegro energico
    Presto non assai
    Andante grazioso
    Allegro molto