LIVE | Yerin Yang, 16, piano

May 4, 2019, 11:00 am

Share this Post

We are excited to welcome back Yerin Yang as the winner of the 2018 Crain-Maling Foundation Chicago Symphony Orchestra Young Artists Competition winner. She has performed on WFMT’s Introductions twice, once in 2013 and again in 2016. Yerin is currently a Fellow at the Music Institute of Chicago’s Academy, and studies with Alan Chow and James Giles. She began playing piano at the age of 5, and her dream is to become a concert pianist.

Most recently, Yerin took First Prize, the Best Performance of Solo Work Award, and the Young Jury Award at the 2018 Arthur Fraser International Piano Competition. As a result, she will perform with the South Carolina Philharmonic during the 2019/20 season. In March 2018, Yerin performed with the Civic Orchestra of Chicago as one of the four finalists in the 2018 Crain-Maling Foundation Chicago Symphony Orchestra Young Artists Competition, where she was named the winner.

Yerin won the MTNA National Junior Division competition in March 2017, and was awarded the Overall Winner of the Junior Division in the 2016 Walgreens National Concerto Competition. She has taken first prize awards for numerous competitions around the Chicago area, including the Sejong Music Competition and the Chinese Fine Arts Society Competition for three consecutive years (2012-14). She also won first place at the 2013 Los Angeles Young Musician International Competition.

As the winner of the DePaul Concerto Festival in both 2013 and 2018, she has appeared with the Oistrakh Symphony Orchestra twice. Under the direction of Uri Segal, Yerin has also performed with the Music Fest Perugia Festival Orchestra in Perugia, Italy in August 2016. In March 2020, in addition to performing with the South Carolina Philharmonic, she will also perform with the Pasadena Symphony.


The Well Tempered Clavier, Book I, by Johann Sebastian Bach
Prelude & Fugue No. 12 in F minor, BWV 857

Sonata No. 3 in B minor, op. 58, by Frédéric Chopin

Toccata in D minor, op. 11, by Sergei Prokofiev