Sam Boutris and Hilda Huang

October 30, 2019, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Due to WFMT’s fall membership drive, this performance will first be broadcast as a live video broadcast on WFMT’s Facebook page on October 30 at 12:15 pm before being shared on air that evening at 8:00 pm.

Clarinetist Sam Boutris and pianist Hild Huang present a program of Mozart, Ravel, Pierné, Cahuzac, Bassi, and Schumann.

Clarinetist Sam Boutris’ nuanced and genuine performances balance artistic originality with elegant interpretations that engage both audiences and critics alike. He regularly performs as a concerto soloist, recitalist and chamber musician, collaborating with an eminent array of renowned conductors and colleagues.

Boutris’ current and recent season highlights include a featured recital on the award-winning Crypt Sessions series in New York City, a live broadcast solo recital on WQXR’s Midday Master Series at the Greene Space; solo recitals at Dame Myra Hess (Chicago) Lincoln Centers’ Paul Hall and Wilson Theater, the Harvard Club of New York, La Maison Française at New York University, and a featured recital of the Mozart and Brahms Clarinet Quintets with the Attacca Quartet on the Rockerfeller Noon Series.

Boutris was the recipient of the ‘Musica Solis’ grand prize at the 2019 Chamber Music Northwest International Clarinet Competition and subsequently performed the Mozart Clarinet Concerto with the festival orchestra on two programs. Other recent concerto engagements include performances with the Vermont Mozart Festival Orchestra and the Yale Undergraduate Chamber Orchestra.

As an orchestral musician Boutris has performed as guest principal clarinet with the Louisville Symphony Orchestra, and ‘Symphony in C.’ He has also appeared as guest clarinet with the New Haven and Princeton symphonies.

Starting in the fall of 2017, Sam Boutris took a position in the prestigious Artist Diploma program at the Juilliard School in New York. He also holds degrees from Yale University and the Curtis Institute of Music.

Pianist Hilda Huang achieves power, grace, and “philosophical depths” (West-Allgemeine Zeitung) in her interpretations of the music of J.S. Bach and more recently, L.V. Beethoven. By the age of 18 she earned the singular distinction of being awarded the first and highest prizes at all of the world’s most significant Bach competitions, and has since played Bach in recital at the Leipzig Gewandhaus, BASF Ludwigshafen, and both the Leipzig and Montréal Bach Festivals as part of the Steinway Prizewinners’ Concert Network.

In the 2019-2020 season, she will present Bach’s Italian Concerto BWV 971 and the French Overture BWV 831 at the International Holland Music Sessions, the Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concerts Series and at St. Martin-in-the-Fields. She will soon record these pieces for Orpheus Classical.

In addition to special projects, Huang presents annual recitals under the auspices of Thürmer Pianos at venues in Bochum and Meißen in Germany and San Francisco Noontime Recitals at Old St. Mary’s Church. She will moreover return as soloist with the San Francisco Chamber Orchestra in the 2020-2021 season, after having appeared as their Debut Artist in 2011.

Hilda Huang studies with Melvin Chen at the Yale School of Music in pursuit of a Master of Musical Arts, and has received instruction from Bernd Goetzke, John McCarthy, and András Schiff. She is a 2013 Presidential Scholar in the Arts and a 2019 Paul and Daisy Soros Fellow.

Biographies courtesy of IMF Chicago.

*On-demand audio featured on this site may have been edited in order to comply with U.S. copyright regulations.

  • Un’aura amorosa from Così fan tutte, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Vocalise-étude en forme de Habanera, by Maurice Ravel

  • Canzonetta, Op. 19, by Gabriel Pierné

  • Concert Fantasia on Motives from Verdi’s Rigoletto, by Luigi Bassi 

  • Fantasiestücke, Op. 73, by Robert Schumann
    Zart und mit Ausdruck
    Lebhaft, leicht
    Rasch und mit Feuer