Insieme Piano Trio & Trio Reine

July 11, 2020, 11:00 am

Share this Post

Insieme Piano Trio and Trio Reine. Left to right: Abigail Park, Ashley Kim, Sonya Jones, Miriam Friedman, Grace Mockus, and Eva Sharman.

For WFMT’s Trailblazing Women in Music Month, Introductions features two all-female trios: the Insieme Piano Trio from the Music Institute of Chicago Academy; and Trio Reine from Midwest Young Artists Conservatory.

Insieme Piano Trio

The Insieme Piano Trio is comprised of Sonya Jones and Abigail Park, violins/violas; and Ashley Kim, piano. All three students are Fellows at the Music Institute of Chicago Academy, and the group is coached by faculty members Sang Mee Lee and Abe Stokman. Insieme is the Italian word for “together” or “united”, and reflects their work ethic as a chamber group. The Insieme Piano Trio was the overall winner of the 2020 Midwest National Chamber Competition, and made the semfinals of the 2020 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition.

Sonya Jones, 15, has been a winner in the DePaul Concerto Competition for violin and piano, was a laureate at the 2019 American Institute Violin Competition, and a finalist in the 2019 Chicago Youth Symphony Concerto Competition. In the summer of 2019, Sonya performed on tour with Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestras in Stockholm, Helsinki, Tallinn, and St Petersburg.

Abigail Park, 16, has been awarded top prizes in numerous competitions, including first place at the 2018 AMI Violin Competition, first place in the Junior Division at the 2017 Society of American Musicians Competition, and honorable mention in the 2016 DePaul Concerto Competition.

Ashley Kim, 16, has performed in many renowned stages including Carnegie Hall, Studebaker Theater, and the Miller Theater; and delivered a live solo recital on Introductions in November 2019. She was a winner in the 2020 YoungArts Foundation and the 2020 DePaul Concerto Competition, and has been the first prize winner of the Sejong Music Competition in both the junior and senior divisions. Ashley first appeared on Introductions in 2017, performing in the Emilio Del Rosario Piano Concerto Competition.

Trio Reine

Trio Reine is an intensive piano trio from Midwest Young Artists Conservatory in Highwood, Illinois. The members are violinist Miriam Friedman, cellist Grace Mockus, and pianist Eva Sharman; and the group is coached by Tatyana Stepanova. Trio Reine won second prize in the 2020 Rembrandt Chamber Music Competition, and an honorable mention in the 2020 Midwest National Chamber Music Competition.

Miriam Friedman studies violin with Sonia Hadar. She has participated in competitions such as the Walgreens National Concerto Competition, the 2019 Highland Park High School Concerto Competition, and the 2017 DePaul Concerto Competition. Miriam is also a participant of ILMEA’s district and state orchestras.

Grace Mockus currently studies with Amir Eldan, and will study cello performance at the University of Michigan this fall. She was the principal cellist of the Lake Forest High School Symphony Orchestra, and has been a part of ILMEA’s District and State Orchestras as well. She was an honorable mention in the 2019 Walgreens National Concerto Competition.

Eva Sharman is a high school junior and studies piano with Tatyana Stepanova. She has won awards in competitions such as the 2020 and 2019 Lake Forest High School Honors Competition, 2019 NSMTA Sonata Festival, 2019 and 2018 Granquist Competitions, and 2017 Walgreens National Concerto Competition. Eva is also a violinist and enjoys teaching younger students.


Kegelstatt Trio in E-Flat Major, K. 498, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
I. Andante
III. Rondeaux: Allegretto

Eight Pieces, Op. 83, by Max Bruch
IV. Allegro agitato

Insieme Piano Trio: Sonya Jones, violin/viola; Abigail Park, violin/viola; Ashley Kim, piano

Piano Trio in c minor, Op. 1/3, by Ludwig van Beethoven
IV. Finale: Prestissimo

Piano Trio in g minor, Op. 15, by Bedřich Smetana
II. Allegro ma non agitato

Piano Trio in f-sharp minor, by Arno Babajanian
III. Allegro vivace

Trio Reine: Miriam Friedman, violin; Grace Mockus, cello; Eva Sharman, piano