Liszt’s Totentanz and Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

October 27, 2020, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Berlioz Bells (Todd Rosenberg Photography 2014)

It’s almost Halloween! Mussorgsky’s A Night on Bald Mountain opens this program, followed by Rachmaninov’s The Isle of the Dead and Liszt’s Totentanz. Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique, complete with a March to the Scaffold and hallucinatory Dream of a Witches’ Sabbath, brings the program to a close.


A Night on Bald Mountain, by Modest Mussorgsky
Chicago Symphony Orchestra; Seiji Ozawa, conductor

The Isle of the Dead, Op. 29, by Sergei Rachmaninov
Chicago Symphony Orchestra; Fritz Reiner, conductor

Totentanz for Piano and Orchestra, by Franz Liszt
Byron Janis, piano; Chicago Symphony Orchestra; Fritz Reiner, conductor

Valse triste, Op. 44, No. 1, by Jean Sibelius
Chicago Symphony Orchestra; Frederick Stock, conductor

Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14, by Hector Berlioz
Chicago Symphony Orchestra; Claudio Abbado, conductor