Noah Chen and Beilin Han

October 28, 2020, 3:00 pm

Share this Post

Joining us from the Claudia Cassidy Theater of the Chicago Cultural Center is cellist Noah Chen with collaborative pianist Beilin Han.

Cellist Noah Chen currently attends the Pre-College Division of the Juilliard School, under the tutelage of Dr. Clara Kim. Noah is both an avid soloist and chamber musician. As a member of the Chen String Quartet, he has performed for NPR’s From the Top, Make Music Chicago 2020, and the International Music Foundation’s Rush Hour Concert Series. He is the former Principal Cello of the CYSO Symphony Orchestra.

Beilin Han was born in Shanghai, China and began studying piano at the age of three. She attended the Shanghai Conservatory of Music for Primary and Middle School and also attended the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts in Singapore on a full scholarship. Immediately after graduating from Academy in Singapore, Ms. Han was accepted into the University of Kansas for her Master’s Degree, being the only full scholarship recipient at the time.

Beilin was invited to perform at the 7th Annual World Piano Pedagogy Conference in Las Vegas in 2002 and was honored as a Young Artist in 2003. In 2004, Ms. Han became a prize winner of the Vianna Da Motta International Piano Competition in Portugal. She toured internationally as a concert pianist performing throughout China, Portugal, Spain, and the US. She also appeared on radio programs in Singapore and the U.S., as well as a television program in China.

In 2008, Ms. Han graduated from the Chicago College of Performing Arts at Roosevelt University, where she earned her Artistic Diploma with Solomon Mikowsky and Meng-Chieh Liu.

In addition to Ms. Han’s successful solo career, she enjoys chamber music and collaborating with such artists as pianist Alberto Portugheis, world-renowned countertenor Paul Esswood, world-famous violinists Shmuel Ashkenasi, Yossif Ivanov, Ilya Kaler, Kyoko Takezawa, and Elmar Oliveira among others. She has also played for world-famous conductors such as Riccardo Muti and Christoph Eschenbach.

Currently, Ms. Han is a collaborative pianist at both Northwestern University and DePaul School of Music, Chicago Stradivari Society and joined the collaborative piano faculty at the Heifetz International Music Institute since 2011 and Cremona International music festival in 2015.

  • Sonata No. 4 in C Major, Op. 102, by Ludwig van Beethoven
    Andante – Allegro vivace
    Adagio – Tempo d’andante – Allegro vivace

  • Cello Sonata No. 1 in E minor, Op. 38, by Johannes Brahms
    Allegro non troppo
    Allegretto quasi