Colere Quartet

May 19, 2021, 12:15 pm

Share this Post

The Colere Quartet plays music by Bach, Guillermo Lago, and Russell Peck live from the Chicago Cultural Center.

John Cummins, soprano saxophone
Elissa Kana, alto saxophone
Greg Rife, tenor saxophone
Dennis Kwok, baritone saxophone

Founded in 2017 at the University of Iowa, the Colere Quartet is an Iowa City-based ensemble comprised of saxophonists John Cummins, Elissa Kana, Greg Rife, and Dennis Kwok. Colere presents engaging programs consisting of a wide range of classical as well as contemporary repertoire. Recent performances include recitals at the University of Iowa, Augustana College, and Monmouth College, performances at North American Saxophone Alliance conferences, and appearances at a variety of community engagement concerts. Honors awarded to Colere include a Gold Medal at the 2020 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition and First Prize at the 2019 Plowman Chamber Music Competition. Colere is a Latin word meaning “to cultivate.” This name was inspired by Iowa’s expansive farmland and the group’s commitment to cultivating musical life in the Midwest and beyond.

Biography courtesy of the IMF.


Concerto Italien, BWV 971, by J.S. Bach, arr. Tochio

Ciudades, by Guillermo Lago
Córdoba (España)
Montevideo (Uruguay)
Addis Ababa (Ethiopia)

Drastic Measures, by Russell Peck
Poco adagio espressivo