Tan Dun, Mozart, Liu Tianhua, and Beethoven

January 6, 2022, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

chicago philharmonic tan dun
Tan Dun

Inaugurated in 2007, China’s National Centre for Performing Arts, or the NCPA, has been a cultural beacon in the country’s vast musical landscape. Join host George Preston for the inaugural program of This Week from China’s NCPA. We’ll hear works by Ludwig van Beethoven, Giuseppe Verdi, and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, as well as composers Tan Dun and Liu Tianhua.


Tan Dun: Erhu Concerto:Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
Yu Hongmei, erhu; China National Traditional Orchestra: Liu Sha, conductor

Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 23 in A Major, K. 488
Chen Sa, piano; NCPA Orchestra: Lü Jia, conductor

Liu Tianhua: The Enchanting Night
NCPA Orchestra: Lü Jia, conductor

Beethoven: Symphony No. 6 in F Major, Op. 68
NCPA Orchestra: Lü Jia, conductor

Verdi: Overture to Nabucco
NCPA Orchestra: Lü Jia, conductor