Music and Conversation with Dame Jane Glover

April 5, 2022, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Jane Glover conducting
Jane Glover conducts the Music of the Baroque Orchestra (Photo: Elliot Mandel)

A conversation with the legendary British conductor, author, and one of the foremost interpreters of 18th century music. In addition to numerous prestigious conducting assignments, Dame Jane Glover was music director of Glyndebourne Touring Opera (1981-1985), artistic director of London Mozart Players (1984-1991), Director of Opera at the Royal Academy of Music (2009-2016), and has served as music director of the Chicago-area’s Music of the Baroque since 2002. Maestro Glover joins host Oliver Camacho to discuss Bach’s St. John and St. Matthew Passions, which she characterizes as the summit of music from the Baroque era. The program also offers a preview of Music of the Baroque 2022-23 season and a few of next season’s featured soloists including pianist Gabriela Montero, cellist Paul Dwyer, and countertenor Reginald Mobley.


Johann Sebastian Bach: “Brandenburg Concerto” No. 4 in G Major, BWV 1049
I. Allegro
Music of the Baroque
Nicholas Kraemer, conductor 

J.S. Bach: St. John Passion, BWV 245
39. Chorus, “Ruht wohl, ihr heiligen Gebeine”
40. Chorale, “Ach Herr, lass dein lieb Engelein”
Music of the Baroque
Jane Glover, conductor

George Frideric Handel: Jephtha, HWV 70
Air, “Waft her, angels, through the skies”
Anthony Rolfe Johnson, tenor
Music of the Baroque
Thomas Wikman, conductor
Courtesy of the Richard and Judith Mintel Archives

J.S. Bach: Cello Suite No. 3 in C, BWV 1009
V. Bourrées
Paul Dwyer, cello
Bach Cello Suites: ODDS
Bear Machine Records

Handel: Dixit Dominus, HWV 232
II. “Virgam virtutis tuae emittet Dominus ex Sion”
Reginald Mobley, countertenor
Music of the Baroque
Nicholas Kraemer, conductor

Giovanni Gabrieli: Canzon septimi toni à 8 
Music of the Baroque
William Jon Grey, conductor

J.S. Bach arr. Gabriela Montero: Two-Part Invention in D minor
Gabriela Montero, piano
Bach and Beyond
EMI Classics 0946 3 64647 2

Franz Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 101 “Clock” 
IV. Finale. Vivace.
Music of the Baroque
Jane Glover, conductor

J.S. Bach: St. Matthew Passion, BWV 244
39. Aria, “Erbarme dich, mein Gott”
Catherine Wyn-Rogers, mezzo-soprano
Robert Waters, violin
Music of the Baroque
Jane Glover, conductor

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No. 34 in C Major, K. 338
Music of the Baroque
Jane Glover, conductor

J.S. Bach: Mass in B minor
“Et resurrexit” from Credo
Music of the Baroque
Jane Glover, conductor