Chicago Symphony Orchestra Live from Ravinia

July 14, 2023, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Marin Alsop
Marin Alsop (Photo: Platon)

“Turn Up the Joy: Beethoven 9 Expanded” is the opening night concert of CSO’s summer residency at Ravinia. Marin Alsop combines the Chicago Symphony Chorus, Adrian Dunn Singers, and Senn High School Choir in Reena Esmail’s See Me to be a direct prelude to Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony. Expanding on the idea of a “Global Ode to Joy” each movement of the symphony will be connected by African drumming (Ayodele Drum & Dance) and jazz trio (Jim Gailloreto Trio).