Gateways Brass Collective

July 24, 2023, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

The Gateways Brass Collective
The Gateways Brass Collective in performance (Photo: Matt Wittmeyer)

Through dynamic performances and outstanding educational outreach, the Gateways Brass Collective, an all–African American quintet, was founded in 2018 to inspire artists from all backgrounds. Each member has performed with soloists, big bands, orchestras, and indie bands, as well as on Broadway, film soundtracks, and Grammy-nominated recordings, including with the likes of David Byrne, Aretha Franklin, and Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings.


Gateways Brass Collective
Courtney Jones, trumpet
Herbert Smith, trumpet
Larry Williams, horn
Isrea Butler, trombone
Jerome Stover, tuba

Courtney Jones, arr. “Soul Banner” (adapted from “The Star-Spangled Banner”)
David Wilborn: Escapades
Henry Thacker Burleigh (arr. Herb Smith): “Balm in Gilead”
Scott Joplin (arr. Michael Allen): Elite Syncopations
George L. Cobb: Russian Rag
Leigh Pilzer, arr: Duke Ellington Medley
George Walker: Dance I [mvt. 2] and Chorale [mvt. 3] from Music for Brass (Sacred and Profane)
Sid Wyche (arr. J.D. Shaw): “All Right, OK, You Win”
Eric Ewazen: Colchester Fantasy
Herb Smith: A Man, A Path
Billy Strayhorn: Chelsea Bridge
Ben Bernie & Maceo Pinkard (arr. Joey Sellers) “Sweet Georgia Brown”
Anthony J. Showalter (arr. Herb Smith) “Leaning on the Everlasting Arms”
Dizzy Gillespie (arr. Herb Smith): Manteca