Celebrating Frederick Stock

November 5, 2023, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Frederick Stock
Frederick Stock

This broadcast celebrates the Chicago Symphony Orchestra’s second music director Frederick Stock! Opening the program is Mendelssohn’s Wedding March from A Midsummer Night’s Dream, followed by Bartók’s Piano Concerto No. 2, featuring Maurizio Pollini, conducted by Claudio Abbado. Next, Daniel Barenboim leads Elgar’s Violin Concerto with Itzhak Perlman, followed by Scriabin’s Prometheus, under Pierre Boulez’ baton. Rounding out, Frederick Stock conducts his arrangement of Paganini’s Moto perpertuo.


Felix Mendelssohn: Wedding March from A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Op. 61
Frederick Stock, conductor

Bela Bartók: Piano Concerto No. 2
Maurizio Pollini, piano; Claudio Abbado, conductor

Edward Elgar: Violin Concerto in B Minor, Op. 61
Itzhak Perlman, violin; Daniel Barenboim, conductor

Alexander Scriabin: Prometheus, Op. 60
Anatol Ugorski piano; Chicago Symphony Chorus; Duain Wolfe, director; Pierre Boulez, conductor

Niccolò Paganini (arr. Stock): Moto perpetuo, Op. 11
Frederick Stock, conductor